Fordmods Logo

cluster swap eb fairmont - eb falcon 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: cluster swap eb fairmont - eb falcon
Posted: Sun Apr 17, 2011 11:40 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 92

Joined: 17th Apr 2011

Ride: EB II . T5

Location: radelaide
SA, Australia

hey im new here .. just wondering what it would take to swap the aircondioning controls and dash cluster from my auto eb fairmont into my eb falcon 5 speed
will i have to swap the loom or just the cluster?? thanks

 

_________________

BANNED.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cluster swap eb fairmont - eb falcon
Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1322

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 40 images

Ride: EF GLi/Ghia bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

the dash cluster itself will plug straight in and work, but you will need to change the oil pressure switch in the side of the engine to an oil pressure sensor from a Fairmont/XR6/S Pack etc, could easily be achieved in 20 minutes to half an hour, as for the climate control, it's a fair bit more involved, but it is acheiveable, there is a tech doco about it, go and have a look there, you need to pull the whole dash out, but it's acheiveable, so dont let that discourage you.

Gab
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cluster swap eb fairmont - eb falcon
Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:30 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 92

Joined: 17th Apr 2011

Ride: EB II . T5

Location: radelaide
SA, Australia

ok also i have a digital dash out of a eb 5.0l fairmont will that plug in??? and work doubt it??

 

_________________

BANNED.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cluster swap eb fairmont - eb falcon
Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 971

Joined: 18th Dec 2008

Ride: BA Futura

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Early E-series clusters aren't interchangeable in V8's and sixes. The tachometer won't work.

Is the cluster you mentioned in your first post from a Fairmont or Fairmont Ghia? If it's the Ghia digital one it won't be a plug and play swap.

Also, not that it's a major issue, but if your EB has Smartlock and the Fairmont doesn't you'll lose the Smartlock jewel obviously.

 

_________________

Image
DCII LTD V8 - leather - low k's
1978 XC '1/2' 500 project 302C
BA Futura wagon
P38 Range Rover HSE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cluster swap eb fairmont - eb falcon
Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:14 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 92

Joined: 17th Apr 2011

Ride: EB II . T5

Location: radelaide
SA, Australia

fairmont ghia but its not digital

 

_________________

BANNED.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cluster swap eb fairmont - eb falcon
Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:33 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 92

Joined: 17th Apr 2011

Ride: EB II . T5

Location: radelaide
SA, Australia

is it only the flashing light i will loose or will it mess with the smart lock all together

 

_________________

BANNED.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cluster swap eb fairmont - eb falcon
Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1322

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 40 images

Ride: EF GLi/Ghia bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

kaino91 wrote:
is it only the flashing light i will loose or will it mess with the smart lock all together

only the flashing light dude everything else will be sweet
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:27 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names