Fordmods Logo

dash mod gone wrong #2 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: dash mod gone wrong #2
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 3:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

put all blue LED's into dash, clock and CC. working fine. come out a little later not working? all the other lights on the dash work (including clock) except all the blue LEDS i put in.

We put the CC in after the lights were not working to see if it was the globes.. but the CC lights wouldnt work either.

We tried other working globes where the blue LED Glode was (in the clock) and that didnt work either. so we assume it is not the globes?

We moved the blue LED (that wasnt working) to where the white globe worked in the clock and that didnt work. We tried a new blue LED in the clock where the white one was working and that did work.. although the new LED didnt work where the Blue one had stopped working.... !!?!?!?!

No fuses have blown.. i figure it to be something to do with the power !?!

any help will be appreciated!!!!!!

-i have no clue.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 8:52 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

make sure teh little prong thinks that connect with the circuit board are touching when you pull them out i have found that they bend a little
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 7:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 607

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

well if yoiu put the led in the wrong way with the cathode on the wrong side you are in trouble cos i did it on the heater and aircon control and i burnt bout 7 cms of printed wire off the circuit board i fixed it but it was a learning curve test wich side is negative and positive if you not sure.

you have to pull out dash and look over the ciruit board if it melted the printed circuit its easy to find but it its stuffed a component you need to look really hard

 

_________________

BA XR8 BOSS 260
Winter White
18' gt-p wheels
Flash Tuned
2 jl 13.5' w3's
tv indash

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 8:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeah its looking like that.. the globes that arnt working do work elswhere.. but its only the one globe in the clock, the globes for hte buttons of the dash and the ones that light up the dials on the dash that arnt working the other globes on the dash work, the globe that lights up the LCD of the clock and dash is fine, and the rest of the globes on the dash work.


when it went wrong..i was playing with on of the buttons (either power arial or locking doors.. not sure which one..

what circuit board am i looking for?!

thanks guys

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:56 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The first thing I would try and work out is if there is a short circuit somewhere.

The easiest way to do this,
1) Unplug everything, instruments, Climate control, and trip computer.
Check the park lamps circuit to make sure that the cigarette lighter, and the PRND321 lights up.
- if BAD then check your park lamps fuse... (I know you said you checked all your fuses, but try replacing this fuse, just in case there is a hairline crack in it)
- If GOOD then.....

2) Plug in the Instrument Cluster, and check to see if that Illuminates (The Dials, dont worry about anything else).
- if BAD then you may have fried your BEM (The Negative Illumination Dimmer Line). - Double check you have +12V going to your cluster bulbs, and ground on the other side....
- if GOOD then

3) Plug in each module systematically. (I.E. next climate control, and test, then finally trip computer, and test).
If it fails somewhere here, then you probably have a short circuit somewhere on that module.

Try that, and let us know how it goes !

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

alright! sounds like a good idea!

i think i might have already done most of that though when i was trying to make it work.. park lights work and the gear lights light up also.

i have a feeling its the BEM?
mind explaining what, where and how much a BEM is ??

thanks :D

edit- park lamps DO light up, but the gear lights (PRND321) DONT light up when everythign is in unplugged?

whats this mean ?

 

_________________

Image

Last edited by Laximah on Tue Mar 01, 2005 2:42 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:34 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 277

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU - Turbo

Location: Canada
Oustide Australia

Had a simliar problem in a friends ef did the cluster. We made the led's the wrong way and burnout a section of the track. Made a little crackle and stunk bad. We also blew a fuse replaced it and the cluster needles and all that started working except the lights. Had to get a hole new cluster.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

dunno how you lot all managed to actually burn traces off circuit boards with a reverse polarity LED, all it should have done is not worked (LED's will only pass current in one direction), sounds like you actually short circuited the contacts with one leg of the LED and it passed too much current.

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 2:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yer, i had a LED in one of the buttons.. musta touched somewhere it shouldnt have..

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:34 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Laximah wrote:
i have a feeling its the BEM?
mind explaining what, where and how much a BEM is ??

edit- park lamps DO light up, but the gear lights (PRND321) DONT light up when everythign is in unplugged?

whats this mean ?


The BEM is the Body Electronics Module.
When you pulled apart the dash, the connector below the climate control, that plugs into a plug with a green surround.... Thats the BEM.

If your BEM is fried, You will want a High Series EF BEM. (Green Colour).
Basically a BEM from a EF - EFII Fairmont, EF - EFII Fairmont Ghia, NF Fairlane, DF LTD.
Price will vary, but basically a High Series BEM will only fit the above vehicles. To make them work with other models is a right royal pain in the butt.... So remind the wrecker of this, and use it as a bargaining tool.

As for the PRND321 not lighting up, but the Park lights working.....
Its probably just a blown bulb, and doesnt mean anything if the ciggy lighter bulb is working.

Check to see if the BEM is grounding the Negative Illumination Line.
Do this by checking the Dark Blue / Red Stripe Line on the Trip Computer Plug with a multimeter, with the Park lights turned ON

Image

If you dont have a multimeter, then try GROUNDING this line (I.E. Feed it (-) voltage) with the lights on, and the instrument cluster plugged in.
If the Instrument cluster Illuminates, then Your BEM is Cactus !

(Make sure you do this with KNOWN WORKING BULBS IN YOUR CLUSTER !)

Let us know how it goes

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

wow! thanks xyphoid, your a great help!! :lol: i will do it shortly, have uni atm and dont have the day light to do it all nicely! so i'll get back to you asap on what happens!

thanks again!! :D

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

a rough estimate on a BEM in perth anyways ??

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 12:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

well.. just tested it then.. and the dash lights up. :(

guess i'll post in wanted for a BEM see how many ppl have one lieing around.

again any round estimate on a price i should be looking for/ offer ?

thanks again xyphoid, i owe you one!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 686

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

lol just got quoted from Ford for the BEM -- $542! hahah
(N) time to go to wreckers.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:01 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I got one a while ago to screw around with... Cost me $20 or so...
That was an EF Green) Fairmont Bem.

I may as well post up info on removing and replacing while im here.

Removal :
Remove the radio surround,
Remove the Instrument cluster surround,
Unplug the upper BEM Plug (The tab on the connector is on the passenger side of the plug, press it down, and pull on the plug to remove)
Underneath the dash, the BEM has (2 for High, 1 for Mid and Low Series) plugs. Unplug these using brute force Lol ! (They are plugged in to the green module, located right where your knee would sit if you have your seat moved all the way forward. its above the Footrest....
On each side of the BEM plug, there are 2 screws. Remove these.
The BEM finally has a clip holding on to the plastic part of the dash.
Simply jiggle the BEM, pulling it downwards, and it should become unstuck, and come out....

It will take you about 10 minutes to remove the BEM, mind you your car will be undrivable when you do.

To insert is the exact opposite proceedure.
Ohhh, and dont forget to do the Smartlock relearn proceedure... Which is
1) Plug in all BEM plugs.
2) make sure all the BEM features work for you (Interior lights, cluster Illumination, etc, etc)
3) Insert your key in the ignition, and turn to the ON position (Dont start the car)
4) Wind down drivers window (See step 9)
5) Grab a beer, or any other alcamoholic beverage...
6) Drink Beer, or any other alcamoholic beverage...
7) Grab another Beer......
8) conitnue with steps 4) 5) and 6) until 30-45 minutes have elapsed
9) the door locks will cycle (Thats why I said open your window, incase the car locks you out !)
10) Start your Engine !
11) Do a celebratory Burn out on your neighbours front lawn !

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SimonEL and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:56 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names