Fordmods Logo

Diagnostic / Police modes on BA's? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Diagnostic / Police modes on BA's?
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 451

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 5lt Turbo NC, TE V6 Gemini

Location: Castlemaine
VIC, Australia

Arethere any cool modes i can access, or look at on a BA? Its a 6cyl fairmont ghia?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 740

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

nah, unless you have a mate at ford, they can enable police mode (nuthing special, just digital speed etc)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 12:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

or unles syou have your own pds or wds!

Hopefully in the not too distant future our propeller head lukeyson will be able to sniff out all the codes using the can bus converter to a laptop

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Awe shucks.

Actually, I'm curious now exactly what the Police mode diasbles on the Cluster.

Maybe xpression knows what bits get turned on and off? I'll have a quick look.

I'm specifically interested in what happens to High Level cars when Police Mode is enabled on the cluster. Since all the stuff appears on the ICC, does this even work on High Series (Dual Zone) cars?

There are different interior 'courtesy light' modes as well, and one of them is called 'Police'.

I'll take a squizz of Mr WS Manual and see if I can glean exactly what they are.

But yes, we are trying to get our own temporary access to a 'tool' so that we can sniff the OBD2 commands in the hopes of replicating them.


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

OK, I was confused.

There are three possible 'trip' buttons.

The one IN the cluster is for setting the ODO/Trip A/Trip B on the right LCD.

The Trip on the Cluster Binnacle is for setting the Range/Avg L/100/Inst L/100 etc on the left LCD.

The Trip on the ICC in high models is for setting the Range/Avg L/100/INst L/100 on the colour screen.

When in Police mode, ONLY the RHS LCD Trip is affected - in that Trip A and Trip B is not available, the LCD is converted to a digital speed readout, and the ODO can be viewed when the car is off.

Apparently the speed can be frozen by pressing and holding the Illumination Level button on the cluster binnacle. Probably to try and catch speeders when level pegging.


Lukeyson

Last edited by Lukeyson on Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

i was actually questioning the police mode question on a high series cluster myself the other day. I might grab a random used car and try it next time i get a chance. It disables all the trip computer functions inside the cluster, leaving D.T.E. and trip metre on the left hand side lcd screen as well as gear selection, and it has digital speed on the right hand side.

I believe the police mode on interior lights turns off the interior lamps coming on when opening the door, but they can beswitched on/off with the button on the ICC
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:52 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Lukeyson wrote:

When in Police mode, ONLY the RHS LCD Trip is affected - in that Trip A and Trip B is not available, the LCD is converted to a digital speed readout, and the ODO can be viewed when the car is off.

Lukeyson


not quite true, the LHS LCD has the trip functions disabled, and has Range/dte and trip metre only displayed on it, and the RHS LCD has digital speed which can be frozen as you said, using the button labled "trip"
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Well, I'm hoping the Police Mode on high series cluster will just affect the RH LCD display in the cluster, and leave the ICC stuff intact.

But I'm still not clear on what is disabled on the LH LCD on low series. I thought Trip A and Trip B were on the RH LCD? of all the modes, which ones become unavailable on the Cluster and/or ICC (I appreciate you're yet to get an answer on the high-series IC/ICC question):

Range/DTE
Inst Fuel
Avg Fuel
Avg Speed
Travel Time

I think the Police Mode for the courtesy lights/battery saver lights, however, is something different as it is programmed in the BEM and is one of the BEM personalities. Like Taxi Mode, it also has an affect on the operation of the door locks.

Question is, in the IDS/WDS, do you set IC Police Mode and BEM Police Modes separately, or do you select 'Police Mode' which then sets both modules at once?

There's some more homework for you xpression!


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Re: the 'Speed Lock' bit and the dimmer light, it's this thread on FF that I got that from:

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread ... olice+mode


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

whats taxi mode do?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Lukeyson wrote:
But I'm still not clear on what is disabled on the LH LCD on low series. I thought Trip A and Trip B were on the RH LCD?

they are, but when police mode is enabled the trip metre moves to the LH LCD, and there is only one trip metre. You toggle between the DTE and trip metre on this screen using the reset button (#26 in the pic)


Lukeyson wrote:
of all the modes, which ones become unavailable on the Cluster and/or ICC (I appreciate you're yet to get an answer on the high-series IC/ICC question):

Range/DTE
Inst Fuel
Avg Fuel
Avg Speed
Travel Time


The only of the above which remains in the LHS which remains is the Range/DTE function. All the others are gone in a low series car.

Lukeyson wrote:
Question is, in the IDS/WDS, do you set IC Police Mode and BEM Police Modes separately, or do you select 'Police Mode' which then sets both modules at once?

individually. hopefully tomorrow ill get a chance to have a play with a fairmont/ghia

the button which freezes the speedo with police mode enabled is the "TRIP" button (#17)

looking at the 2nd pic, it appears high series cars might not have the correct screen to display trip.dte as they carry gear selected and vehicle diagram on that screen.

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: high series cluster
bahigh.gif
bahigh.gif [ 82.91 KiB | Viewed 171 times ]
File comment: low series cluster
balow.gif
balow.gif [ 88.54 KiB | Viewed 184 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

in police mode, the warning lights or indicator flashes are disabled when you lock and unlock the car with the key fob. usually the interior light is disabled under normal circumstances, so you can use a radar or what not and not be seen when the door is open. there are a few other things, but am yet to see.

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 7:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

I've done this on a high-series.

All of the DTE, Inst Econ, Avg Econ, Avg Speed stuff is unchanged on the ICC. All of the normal changes apply on the high series cluster - DTE stays, Trip A shifts to left LCD, Right LCD shows Digital Speedo and Speed Capture.


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 717

Joined: 12th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: fg xr6t manual, xe 351 ute

Location: penrith, sydney
NSW, Australia

Nicko wrote:
or unles syou have your own pds or wds!



just out of curiosity how much would these cost

 

_________________

Current cars
1983 XE Ute - xf front, worked 351, straight gas
2010 Fg xr6t manual - stock

ex cars
80 series cruiser, ba xt, ea s-pac (xr6 test model), ke laser.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 6:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1123

Joined: 7th Nov 2005

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

The software is free. The 'VCM' which is essentially a Ford Proprietary Scantool, is about $3000USD.

But there's a $300 tool called the Mongoose CAN/ISO from Drewtech that works with a cut down version of the Ford software, and you can pay for that software for about $60USD per month of there abouts.

Unless you're able to hack the software to work, which I'm not saying is not impossible.....;-)


Lukeyson
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:17 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names