Fordmods Logo

Digital to analog cluster 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Wed May 26, 2010 11:34 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 278

Joined: 9th Dec 2009

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Lookin for a EB or ED fairmont

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Hey all, um i've got a ED sports cluster and i want to replace the digital one with it
Can i get some links or a few tips on how to change it plz

Chears
Crazy6ltr(3.9ltr) lol

 

_________________

Car got Crushed
R.I.P EB Fairmont 05/06/2010

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 278

Joined: 9th Dec 2009

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Lookin for a EB or ED fairmont

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

come on peaple, iv'e gone to search and no luck

 

_________________

Car got Crushed
R.I.P EB Fairmont 05/06/2010

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:29 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

it can be done, afaik you need to find out the plug pin out info on both clusters, cut the plug from the car with the analog cluster and splice this plug into your dash loom as the cluster plugs are different..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 422

Joined: 10th Jul 2009

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Black EB 5 Speed EL Front End

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

get the wiring diagrams from Technical Documents and just modify the wiring to suit. Im currently wiring a EF Monty Cluster into my EB and having a few minor difficulties, so i just sent Benj a PM because he has done that before

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:32 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 278

Joined: 9th Dec 2009

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Lookin for a EB or ED fairmont

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

ok cool, does this mean i need to take out the dash or just work in the space where the cap is, and takin the wheel off is a better idea to ay

 

_________________

Car got Crushed
R.I.P EB Fairmont 05/06/2010

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 422

Joined: 10th Jul 2009

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Black EB 5 Speed EL Front End

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

documents.php?d=45

there is the cluster pin out charts at the bottom

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:39 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 278

Joined: 9th Dec 2009

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Lookin for a EB or ED fairmont

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

yer i know that but, so basicly i got to u-pull-it crab a XR loom and then bam, fuse up some new looms and BOOM new cluster...right

 

_________________

Car got Crushed
R.I.P EB Fairmont 05/06/2010

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 422

Joined: 10th Jul 2009

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Black EB 5 Speed EL Front End

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

doesn't even need to be an xr loom, you can just go to a falcon with the low spec cluster as they have the same plugs on the back

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:44 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 278

Joined: 9th Dec 2009

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Lookin for a EB or ED fairmont

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

ok cool, well ill go down some time on sunday and take a look,
Thanks for the help

 

_________________

Car got Crushed
R.I.P EB Fairmont 05/06/2010

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:45 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

Crazy6ltr wrote:
yer i know that but, so basicly i got to u-pull-it crab a XR loom and then bam, fuse up some new looms and BOOM new cluster...right


it doesnt have to be an xr loom.. the gli loom is the same as the xr loom.(same plug ,same wires)

all you need is the cluster plug and a few inches of the loom, splice the plug and wires into your loom using the info in the doco as a guide....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:50 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 278

Joined: 9th Dec 2009

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Lookin for a EB or ED fairmont

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

cool as man

 

_________________

Car got Crushed
R.I.P EB Fairmont 05/06/2010

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 422

Joined: 10th Jul 2009

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Black EB 5 Speed EL Front End

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

not to sure about this, but you might be able to put in a NF Fairlane Ghia cluster then you will still have the same type of gauges as the old sports clusters but have all the other little things that the others dont have.
Plus EF/EL have a 220kph Speedo :lol: :lol: :lol:

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:54 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 278

Joined: 9th Dec 2009

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Lookin for a EB or ED fairmont

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

yer man that'll be phat as, but im not good at wires lol

 

_________________

Car got Crushed
R.I.P EB Fairmont 05/06/2010

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Digital to analog cluster
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 6:32 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 1

Joined: 28th Feb 2011

Ride: ed xr6 1993

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

hay i have a ed xr6 i want to do the same thing make the analog dash into digital i have a fairlane digital dash but theres that plug missing do i have to mod the wireing harness or is there a plug there already that i cant see???
any help would be great full

regards Danni
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:37 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names