Fordmods Logo

DL LTD Interior into EF Futura --> Now with pics! 3/10 

 

Page 1 of 4 [ 53 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
 Post subject: DL LTD Interior into EF Futura --> Now with pics! 3/10
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:14 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

How would I go about wiring up the electric seat from the EL Fairmont Ghia into my EF FUtura?

Also does anything else need to be cahnged or is it all plug and play?

Last edited by twirqurky on Mon Oct 03, 2005 5:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:19 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

nope won't be plug & play as you won't have the pre-existing wiring for the seats there!

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:22 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

No the elctric seats, I mean the bolts and s**t holding them in, rear seats, etc i know the wiring ain there thats what I need!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:36 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

will be fine dude! will bolt straight in! :wink:

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:38 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ok, so any ideas on the electrics?

Worth making a doco about?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:50 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

ask steve about it - i know i've chatted to him in the past about fitting the electrics, but have NFI what he told me! :P

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:54 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Is there anyhting Steve doesnt know?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:10 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

You need a plug or 2 for starters. I'm pretty sure (from memory) they are the same plug as what is used for the dash door lock button, or the fuel/boot release buttons.

These are then wired into the power window 12v feed. Its a large gauge yellow wire going into the power window plug in the console.

This is how its done from factory. The power window breaker covers the windows and seats.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:16 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ok so I need to find a plug for the central locking/fuel door open/boot relaese buttons and run the wires to the thick yellow wire under the windows?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:23 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Yeah... Go visit your local "self serve" wrecker and just cut the plugs out of the looms. The dash door lock button would be easiest. They are a long yellow + black wire combination.

Buy some thicker gauge wire, like 7 or 10 amp. Shorten the wires to the plugs, and solder on the tick gauge stuff to the plug, then splice into the thick yellow wire that goes into the power window swtiches in the centre console for the 12v feed.

Ground wire can be attached anywhere. Easiest would be to the bolts that hold the handbrake down.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:02 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Uh huh....ok still understanding.

Go to wreckers, get dash lock loom, I got that part.

Lose it around the part where turn wires into plug. How do I do that? Small simple words.

Is it only two wires, positive and an earth I need?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:53 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Np mate... But you owe me a favour, which I will call on later in a PM... :D

When you cut the loom from the dash, you will end up with a 2 pin plug with 2 wires coming out of it.

You will need to take the 2 pins out of this plug. There is a small tab on the inside of the plug. If you get a small screwdriver and lift it, the pin will fall out of the back. Cut the wire off the pin. Or cut the wire short.

Get some decent wire, as I said 7 or 10 amp. The kind of stuff that comes on 10 metre rolls will do. Solder this wire onto the pin, and slide the pin back into the plug. Do one at a time, so you dont get them mixed up.

On the plug that is under the seat, you will have the male version of this door lock plug. There will be 2 coloured wires. One will be red or something, the other will be black.

Push the plugs together. Solder the wire on the plug you made, that corresponds with the red wire under the seat, into a 12v supply. The closest place is the plug that goes into the power window switches in the centre console. This plug has a decent gauge yellow wire going into it. Splice your new wire from the seat base into this yellow wire. So that gives you your 12v into the seat.

Take the other wire from the plug you made, the one correspoding with the black wire from the seat plug, strip one end. There are 3 bolts holding down the park brake handle. Put the end under one of the bolts....

Test seat and if working, repeat for the other side.

Hows that? :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 11:23 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Now that I understarnd Adrain.

Willl let ya know how I go.

And about that favour.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 2:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

arm79 wrote:
Np mate... But you owe me a favour, which I will call on later in a PM... :D


:? i hope you wont be asking for any "favours" after you do my gearbox :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 3:00 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Rapier wrote:
arm79 wrote:
Np mate... But you owe me a favour, which I will call on later in a PM... :D


:? i hope you wont be asking for any "favours" after you do my gearbox :?


Hey... The price we discussed was for parts only... Installation is extra, and that we havent discussed yet! :D
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 4  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:36 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names