Fordmods Logo

does smartlock work the same in all cars 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: does smartlock work the same in all cars
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 7:14 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 175

Joined: 6th Jun 2005

Ride: el falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

is the smartlock from an au falcon different from that of an ef falcon?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: does smartlock work the same in all cars
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 7:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

martyel wrote:
is the smartlock from an au falcon different from that of an ef falcon?


depends if yours is a AU1 or AU2

the early AU1's had smartlock which worked the same as EF. AU2's had smartshield is a bit more sopisticated with transponder keys and remote alarms

also note that although smartlock worked the same from EBII-AU1 the smartlock modules are not interchangeable between models

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 7:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

3000th post :D

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: reason i ask
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 7:27 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 175

Joined: 6th Jun 2005

Ride: el falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i am asking is that i just put an au engine in my el and now she doesnt start, ive checked all the fuses and im going to replace all of them, but i wasnt sure if i would have to change the smartlock aswell
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: reason i ask
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 7:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

martyel wrote:
i am asking is that i just put an au engine in my el and now she doesnt start, ive checked all the fuses and im going to replace all of them, but i wasnt sure if i would have to change the smartlock aswell


mate, smartlock is not a part of the engine. Its only a external electrical compent that works with the ECU.

There is a strong chance that even though you have a AU motor, you are still running the EL ECU and smartlock set up. Unfortunatly i don't think that smartlock is your problem here. Does the light on the dash flash in any funny/abnormal sort of way?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: nope
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 7:36 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 175

Joined: 6th Jun 2005

Ride: el falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

nah it doesnt flash at all, i only thought smartlock maybe because it controls the injectors and stuff like that
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: does smartlock work the same in all cars
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 7:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3343

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

fordzatmyplace wrote:
martyel wrote:
is the smartlock from an au falcon different from that of an ef falcon?


depends if yours is a AU1 or AU2

the early AU1's had smartlock which worked the same as EF. AU2's had smartshield is a bit more sopisticated with transponder keys and remote alarms

also note that although smartlock worked the same from EBII-AU1 the smartlock modules are not interchangeable between models

fordz, iirc may 99 onwards AU1's had smartshield. :wink:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: nope
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

martyel wrote:
nah it doesnt flash at all, i only thought smartlock maybe because it controls the injectors and stuff like that


it the ECU that controls interjectors and spark etc

smartlock just "unlocks" the ECU when the key is turned into the on postion

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: does smartlock work the same in all cars
Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

GlennAUII wrote:
fordzatmyplace wrote:
martyel wrote:
is the smartlock from an au falcon different from that of an ef falcon?


depends if yours is a AU1 or AU2

the early AU1's had smartlock which worked the same as EF. AU2's had smartshield is a bit more sopisticated with transponder keys and remote alarms

also note that although smartlock worked the same from EBII-AU1 the smartlock modules are not interchangeable between models

fordz, iirc may 99 onwards AU1's had smartshield. :wink:


meh, i knew it was somthing like that :P

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:36 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names