Fordmods Logo

EF/EL Odometer CAN be reprogrammed!! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EF/EL Odometer CAN be reprogrammed!!
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:13 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 112

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I've finally figured it out! For those of you following my previous thread, the checksum has to do with the number of bits in the odometer reading bytes.

But enough technical crap. You all want to know how you can do it too, yes?

I offer my programmer for hire. I will preprogram it with a fixed offset (eg add 148979 km; or subtract 265465 km from the current reading)

The service includes
* Express post to you in Australia
* Return prepaid express post package to get it back to me
* Easy to follow instructions
* 12V power supply so it can all be done on a bench away from the vehicle
* connector to plug in to right hand side cluster socket
* flying leads to solder to the test points on the cluster circuit board
* once connected, takes less than a minute to program
* $10 donation to Fordmods, because without this forum I would never have figured this out.

All this for $69, plus $100 refundable deposit on the programmer.

Further terms and conditions apply.

PM me for further details on this service.

Dang.

Last edited by dang on Thu Jul 07, 2005 11:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF/EL Odometer CAN be reprogrammed!!
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2555

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Location: No Where
NSW, Australia

dang wrote:
All this for $69


reason for this number :D (sorry bout the post but couldnt help myself)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF/EL Odometer CAN be reprogrammed!!
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:29 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 112

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Tomek wrote:
dang wrote:
All this for $69


reason for this number :D (sorry bout the post but couldnt help myself)


2 x $6.50 postage, plus $10 for fordmods, plus $46 to help recover the setup and development costs. Even at $30 an hour, this thing owes me a helluva lot!

Actually, I didn't even think about the other connotations of the number. I just thought $70 would be a reasonable fee, and did the usual retail psychological minus one dollar. $99 etc always sounds so much cheaper than the round number.

Dang.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 12:17 am 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 7330

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

doesn't this come very close or overstep legal issues. ie being illegal to tamper with the kays.. what other reason would you need to alter the kays is the be dishonest about the true reading..

but legal issues out of the way..

what valid use is there for this other than if you were replacing an old cluster with another and had to match the kays up..

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 12:37 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 239

Joined: 17th Jan 2005

Ride: ED 5ltr NM pajero

Location: budgewoi
NSW, Australia

i just bought a cluster of ebay because mine is cactus
i dont realy understand what your offering here so how much to send it to you have you play with it and send it back????
my car has 179862 and the cluster i bought has 330xxx on it i just want it to match my old dash can you help me??????
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 12:59 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 112

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

DC Todd,

Good points, well made.

Yes, changing the cluster is pretty much the only reason you would need to change the odo reading.

Besides the thrill of the chase, that is, proving to myself I could crack the code, the main reason I have done this was to avoid paying Ford some $200 to change my odometer reading after I bought and installed a Police cluster in my EL GLi. The new cluster has 967000km on it, some 820000km more than the car has done.

As a safeguard, the programmer will be pre-programmed with an offset, and also an original reading. If the odo to be redone is outside a 3000km 'window', the programmer will not work. Also, the programmer will disable itself after sucessfully reprogramming the cluster. The box will have tamper evident seals plastered all over it.

Anyone requesting this service will be asked to provide as much evidence as possible that they have changed clusters. (Unless they want to increase the reading, which is obviously not for fraudulent purposes!)
The will also be told to email me a disclaimer stating the following

*The reason the odometer is not what it should be
*That the service is being used to set the odometer to be as close as possible to the correct milage for the vehicle
*That the odometer is not being changed for fraudulent reasons
*That they are aware that odometer tampering for fraud is illegal
*That they consent to having their name and address published with the details of the odometer change.
*[anything else I can think of to cover my a**]

As far as I know, providing tools to change something for legitimate purposes is not illegal, especially if I can demonstrate due care to keep it all legit.

Dang.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 1:56 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Dang, glad to hear that the reprogrammer now works and trust all the info i supplied you helped with getting to this point :D

One thing you may like to highlight is that not all clusters require soldering flyleads to the cluster nvram test points. Some early clusters have black masking tape concealing a plug under the speedo, and i assume your box of tricks can utilize this plug :D

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 10:53 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 112

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yes, thanks ItchiOne.

I haven't highlighted the plug at this point, because
1. The cluster I have on the bench doesn't have this plug, and until I can 100% verify that using this plug works, I will not offer instructions on its use.
2. Without a connector to connect to this plug, I can't offer a simple technique to connect to it.

Currently the flyleads have a connector at one end that connects to my box.
Once these issues are resolved, I will definitely offer a patch lead between my box and the cluster fitted with this plug.

Dang.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 12:43 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Well done Dang. About tinme you got it up and running.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 3:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

dang wrote:
Unless they want to increase the reading, which is obviously not for fraudulent purposes!


Hrmm... i'll set my odometer to 999 999 km thank you!! :shock:


Not Really

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 4:11 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

dang wrote:
Yes, thanks ItchiOne.

I haven't highlighted the plug at this point, because
1. The cluster I have on the bench doesn't have this plug, and until I can 100% verify that using this plug works, I will not offer instructions on its use.
2. Without a connector to connect to this plug, I can't offer a simple technique to connect to it.

Currently the flyleads have a connector at one end that connects to my box.
Once these issues are resolved, I will definitely offer a patch lead between my box and the cluster fitted with this plug.

Dang.

Haven't gotten around to building my own programer as yet, been a little slack on that front :?

As for a connector for that magic cluster plug, it will work as the pins are tied to the same test points and these test points go to the same IC's and pins on both boards types :D

Getting a connector may be an issue but an oldish PC may provide something that could be used - a cut down ISA or PCI connector could fit (pin spacing not quite right but may work) ?

If you need someone to test it, i could offer my services at a reasonable price :wink:

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF/EL Odometer CAN be reprogrammed!!
Posted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:51 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 2

Joined: 3rd Feb 2016

Ride: 97 el wagon

Location: Woronora
NSW, Australia

Hi mate are you still running this service?

We have put a high series cluster into our GLI wagon.

Our car has 550000 kms approx on the clock and the new cluster has approx 330000

Well done on the awesome investigative work!

I can be reach on here or by phone/email

0407010358
reecejbrennan@hotmail.com

Thanks again

Reece
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF/EL Odometer CAN be reprogrammed!!
Posted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:51 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 2

Joined: 3rd Feb 2016

Ride: 97 el wagon

Location: Woronora
NSW, Australia

Hi mate are you still running this service?

We have put a high series cluster into our GLI wagon.

Our car has 550000 kms approx on the clock and the new cluster has approx 330000

Well done on the awesome investigative work!

I can be reach on here or by phone/email

0407010358
reecejbrennan@hotmail.com

Thanks again

Reece
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon May 29, 2017 5:26 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names