Fordmods Logo

El Ghia needs some gear in it 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: El Ghia needs some gear in it
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 2:16 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 70

Joined: 19th Mar 2006

Ride: EL FAIRMONT GHIA

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

just bought an ELmont ghia and not too keen on the sound system it has.
ive currently got a 4*60 watt pioneer deck, sub and amp from my old car waiting to go in...but not to sure on how it goes.

had no problems fitting the deck with the old ef futura as it didnt have premium sound system. but need some help with the ghia.

im asuming that even if the 6 stack could be hooked up to my deck it wouldnt read mp3 format so thats gonna come out with the rest of it.

regarding the PS system in there now, does either the top or bottom part have all the vital wires like speaker, antenna jack, earth e.t.c, then just a connection the other part, or are the wires that need to connect to the new deck split up between the two.

sorry about all the questions but if i remove both parts what can i use to fill the gap one leaves when i put my deck in?

cheers for any replies if you read this far :wink:

Mad_Falc

 

_________________

<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u112/johny-boy89/Clipboard01-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 7:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1132

Joined: 11th Jun 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef fairmont,

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

ok easist way is remove the old ps system get a single din surround from a wrecker and wire up the new head unit by cuttin off the plugs on the car and using crimp terminals connect it all up easy as just have a test light handy as its all behind there

 

_________________

95 ef montfor sale pm for info, 88 hilux mud truck

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 831

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR8 & 06 4x4 Bravo

Location: Pakenham
VIC, Australia

The stacker won't work with ya new head unit..

 

_________________

Image
'04 BA XR8
Winter White, 5 Speed Manual, Sports Leather, Premium Sound, 2 1/2" Cat Back Exh - no rear Mufflers, Lowered SL/SSL, 20's, Underdrives, BF Typhoon Rear Spoiler, GT Steering Wheel, etc.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2515

Joined: 27th Mar 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG MkII Xr6t Ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

horis wrote:
ok easist way is remove the old ps system get a single din surround from a wrecker and wire up the new head unit by cuttin off the plugs on the car and using crimp terminals connect it all up easy as just have a test light handy as its all behind there


what he said, and yes all the wires you will need are there

 

_________________

EVL098 wrote:
Cramping in the hand from having it on your Wang for an excessive period of time is a definate con.
Seriously do people google "f**k up modifications for Fords owned by Jews" and get linked straight to this site nowadays?

AU,factory fitted tickford kit/IRS, t5,Sports ryder/KYB: gone.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:05 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 70

Joined: 19th Mar 2006

Ride: EL FAIRMONT GHIA

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hey guys thanks for the replies....what is a single din surround?

does anyone have any pictures of a custom deck in a fairmont?

cheers

 

_________________

<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u112/johny-boy89/Clipboard01-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 724

Joined: 11th Nov 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Single din is a surround with just the hole for a single headunit like in your old car double is the 2nd hole so u can fit a 2nd deck in. Just buy one from a wreckers and it will fit straight in.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:07 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

horis wrote:
ok easist way is remove the old ps system get a single din surround from a wrecker and wire up the new head unit by cuttin off the plugs on the car and using crimp terminals connect it all up easy as just have a test light handy as its all behind there


nar not worth cutting the plugs off just splice into the wires behind the plugs and solder them in best way in case you sell the car all you have to do is cut the plug and wires you installed and then plug the old radio back in, saves allot od stuffing around in the long run

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 1135

Joined: 27th Oct 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Location: SA
SA, Australia

Or you could just go buy the adapters from the car plug to ISO then from ISO to the matching plug for your new head unit.... Simple that way and takes a s**t load of time off instalation and only costs about $30 for both plugs. Aerpro make them, should be able to get them at pretty well any auto store.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:10 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 70

Joined: 19th Mar 2006

Ride: EL FAIRMONT GHIA

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

cheers guys! yer ill def splice behind the plug..did that last time, and it worked out great. hopefully theres a single din that is the same color as the one i got at the moment.

 

_________________

<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u112/johny-boy89/Clipboard01-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: BF XR6 Ute

Location: Rosebud, Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

fairmont599 wrote:
Or you could just go buy the adapters from the car plug to ISO then from ISO to the matching plug for your new head unit.... Simple that way and takes a s**t load of time off instalation and only costs about $30 for both plugs. Aerpro make them, should be able to get them at pretty well any auto store.


By far, the easiest option!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 1:35 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

in the end DONT cut the pulgs off

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 2:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I cut and soldered all the wired from the factory loom to the HU. If the new HU has the auto dimmer feature like that factory HU make sure the adaptor loom can accomodate it. If you want an idea on how a sing,le din system in a Ghia looks check out my gallery.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 4:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 512

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Ride: Falcon GLI

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

my brother bought an adapter with his new stereo for the ef just unplug the old stereo solder the wires from the car to the matching colors on the adaptor and plug the adaptor in the new unit, although in this job a welder and scissors was used
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1132

Joined: 11th Jun 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef fairmont,

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

welder wtf im guessing you mean a soildering iron

 

_________________

95 ef montfor sale pm for info, 88 hilux mud truck

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:08 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 70

Joined: 19th Mar 2006

Ride: EL FAIRMONT GHIA

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

cheers Joolz yer looks good mate...i have a cream interiour though?

to be homest i dont understand what you guys are saying about HUD's and other lingo...except the adaptor part.

Ill just do what ive done before and solder behind the plugs so the original can easily be plugged back in.

$$ How much should i be expecting to pay for a single DIN, preferably cream ? $$

 

_________________

<a href="http://photobucket.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://i166.photobucket.com/albums/u112/johny-boy89/Clipboard01-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:00 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names