Fordmods Logo

Fairmont to LTD Climate Control Unit 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Fairmont to LTD Climate Control Unit
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 552

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Ride: XR Fairmont

Location: Western Suburbs
VIC, Australia

Hey guys,

I had all the woodgrain parts from an LTD left over and decided to put them into my bros EL fairmont.

They all looked sweet when i put them in
i tested them to make sure all the lights were working before putting it all together.

Then once i finished everything i went to turn the A/C on and it defaulted to the front demister and i couldnt change it.

Is there any known issues putting an LTD climate control unit into a Fairmont?
Or could the unit be faulty?

If its the unit i might just take off the woodgrain and stick it onto the fairmont unit i took out.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i thought the units were the same?

front demister uses vacumme, it will goto that position if theres a vacumme leak.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 3:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 552

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Ride: XR Fairmont

Location: Western Suburbs
VIC, Australia

Exactly what i thought :shock:

But why would there be a vacuum leak if all i did was take off the front part of the dash? :?

ill try putting the original one in tonight coz i couldnt be stuffed ripping it out again at 1am this morning after putting it together.

If it works i guess toss out the LTD unit and just take the woodgrain sticker off?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 4:05 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 2245

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA XR6T

Location: Bayswater
VIC, Australia

i know its obvious, but did you make sure you connected it all back up properly? half the time i forget to plug in all the plugs to the buttons whenever i start taking bits of the dash.

probably easier to just swap over the whole climate control case, rather than peel the sticker off and risk damaging/stretching it.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 1135

Joined: 27th Oct 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Location: SA
SA, Australia

just unclip the front facia off the climate control moduals and swap em over. i

found if i used a small screw driver to pry it up a little then i could stick some small pieces of wire under it to hold the plastic up off the lugs (there are 8 of the bastards) thats if the LTD one doesnt work and the normal one does.

hope that helps
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 9:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

Your brotehr has a EF doesnt he?

If so tehres your problem - EF AND EL CLIMATE CONTROL WIRING IS DIFFERENT!

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 9:58 pm 
Technical Contributor
Online
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Check the sniffer hose - you could've pulled it to hard causing it to disconnect - which then causes a vaccy leak.
Also check the sniffer hose is hooked up to the CC unit, because if it's not, the airbox doors can struggle to open.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 10:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 552

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Ride: XR Fairmont

Location: Western Suburbs
VIC, Australia

No i have an EF my bro has an EL.

And its all good... somehow it fixed itself after leaving the car overnight
everything is back to normal

then last night i took everything apart again to run the RCA and power cables to his boot for his amp and it happened again.
came to the car this morning and everything is fine?

has this happened to anyone before?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 829

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 2004 Mazda Tribute

Do a reset on the CC system, by pressing (I think??) the MODE and OFF buttons at the same time. The screen will illuminate all the segments.

This will run the Climate control diagnostic mode, and re-calibrate the Blend door. Once complete, the display will switch to "off" if there are no issues.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:28 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names