Fordmods Logo

flashing door ajar 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: flashing door ajar
Posted: Sat Sep 24, 2005 8:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

can some body tell me how to replace the senser or what ever it is that detects if the door is open? The car in question is a NC. The drivers door ajar has been flashing for ages now and its time to fix it as it is fuk pissing me off. How the hell do i replace the door ajar senser? (drivers door) Or is it a part of the actuator?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 9:40 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 359

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EBII T5

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

are you talking about the little button between the door and the body?

unscrew the two screws to remove it, and tighten up the screw on the button itself, it may have loosened a little, hence not detecting that the door is closed...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 10:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

Disturbed_Dave wrote:
are you talking about the little button between the door and the body?

unscrew the two screws to remove it, and tighten up the screw on the button itself, it may have loosened a little, hence not detecting that the door is closed...


nah i am not talking about the button, you know on the digital dashs how they tell you if a door is open or not, well on my cluster the drivers door is flashing open/close all the time regardless if the door is open or not. So what i am asking is, how do you replace the senser that detects if the door is open or not?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 10:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 419

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

yeah all it is, is the on off switch on the body like was said before. must faulty, pull it off the plug, if it stops then u know its that, if it keeps flashing u know u have a short to earth some where.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 10:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

fordgt290 wrote:
yeah all it is, is the on off switch on the body like was said before. must faulty, pull it off the plug, if it stops then u know its that, if it keeps flashing u know u have a short to earth some where.


oh yeah, is the plug near the door handle? (inside the door of course) and if you unpluged it, it would just show close, and not open? even if the door was actually open?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2005 10:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 419

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

yep thats right. when the door is closed the switch closes causing the circuit to be closed causing the light to come on, when u unplug it u are opening the circuit so current wont flow, so no light so yep ur switch is faulty
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

its just a standard switch in there, the whole door ajar light/sensor is control by the BEM on the NC's and all the ones with the digital dash .

If you had a faulty door switch, the interior light would come on and off at the same time,

Inside the BEM for the NC's or the car's with the digital dash, there are four or 5 i forget relays that control it ..

If its really pissing you off you can put a 380ohm resistor inline behind the cluster ..... or just replace the BEM ..

I don't think it would be the switch though .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 12:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

all the interior lights work as they should, so should i have a go at replacing the switch or the BEM? Has any body actually had this problem?!

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:49 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names