Fordmods Logo

fuel computer to replace stock clock 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: fuel computer to replace stock clock
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:12 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 176

Joined: 27th Jun 2007

Ride: EFII Futura

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hi guys

Im just wondering if i got my hands on one of those computers that tells you your fuel consumtion etc... would i be able to install it into my EFII where my crappy clock is and be able to get acurate readings of fuel consumption?

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeah dig the tech doco on this site for instructions. youll be lookin at 40-100 bucks on ebay or the wreckers

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 11:01 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=32

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 2:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 680

Joined: 20th Sep 2006

Ride: 97 EL Fairmont

Power: 247 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Yep, fairly easy to do and well worth the effort......one of the best simple upgrades you can give a gli/futura.

One bit of advice, try and go to the wreckers and get a dash cluster plug in which you can pull pins out of to use in your dash cluster plug, and the trip computer plug....

 

_________________

1998 EL XR8 - Opt 20, Explorer Manifold, Pacemaker 4000's, Sunroof, BBQ Fuel

1975 XB Falcon 500 - 351 2V, Toploader, Twin 2.5", Genie headers, Holley 750

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 4:41 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 23rd May 2007

Location: Springwood
NSW, Australia

Gday, i am wondering if i would have any trouble installing the trip meter into my El xr6, would the manual trans pose any issues??? cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:31 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

echopoint123 wrote:
Gday, i am wondering if i would have any trouble installing the trip meter into my El xr6, would the manual trans pose any issues??? cheers


It'll love it!
they suit any model EF/EL/NF/NL/DF/DL but you will need to add a wire and change a few others around.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:00 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names