Fordmods Logo

Full Replacement of Central Loking (EF) 

 

Page 3 of 4 [ 47 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:38 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 46

Joined: 5th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey Kris,
Would fitting this kit to an ED Futura be similar to the EF/EL?
And where behind the dash do i find this BEM thingy?
Can i use the factory wiring?

I want to give this a go.

 

_________________

Cheers.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

bbd71 wrote:
Hey Kris,
Would fitting this kit to an ED Futura be similar to the EF/EL?
And where behind the dash do i find this BEM thingy?
Can i use the factory wiring?

I want to give this a go.


you shouldn't have any trouble fitting it to a ED. ED's have the same actuators as the EF. Also ED's don't have smartlock integrated into the BEM. They have a seperate module which is red and is just above the handbrake. I beleive the wiring coming from the ED smartlock module is the same as the smartlock wiring coming from the EF BEM. Hope this helps

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 12:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1043

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Could you not just hook up the actuators to the existing wiring? And not worry about adding anythign else?

 

_________________

1993 ED XR6 5speed Polynesian Green. Project car.

1998 EL XR8 Auto Hot Chilli Red. New daily and project

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 2:02 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Unfortunately not - I've tested this theory, and they aren't a direct replacement. You need to wire in a 5 wire master actuator in the drivers door to have full functionality, e.g. smartlock keyfob, keylocking all doors, dash cent locking switch.

If you have an alarm fitted, you can wire all as 2 wire slaves, but you can only lock/unlock using the alarm remote, nothing else will work.

The extra wiring isn't that hard - 1 or 2 extra wires to the drivers door, so the door actuator can use the existing lock/unlock wires plus the earth wire - you could use the power line, but you might want to reserve it for power window power if not fitted, hence the extra 2 wires fitted. The others just use the lock/unlock lines, so no additional wiring to the other doors. All the wires needed for the relay unit can be sourced off the BEM, e.g. power, earth, lock/unlock.

The best way to understand is to get your kit and study the circuit setup, and work it from there.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 12:38 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 46

Joined: 5th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

fordzatmyplace wrote:
bbd71 wrote:
Hey Kris,
Would fitting this kit to an ED Futura be similar to the EF/EL?
And where behind the dash do i find this BEM thingy?
Can i use the factory wiring?

I want to give this a go.


you shouldn't have any trouble fitting it to a ED. ED's have the same actuators as the EF. Also ED's don't have smartlock integrated into the BEM. They have a seperate module which is red and is just above the handbrake. I beleive the wiring coming from the ED smartlock module is the same as the smartlock wiring coming from the EF BEM. Hope this helps


Thanks for the info.

 

_________________

Cheers.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 12:44 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 40

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: '95 Futura Manual

Location: Kalgoorlie
WA, Australia

yeah snap0964 has it all worked out

there are other ways to replace the locks, but the idea is to make it work the same as the factory setup (only better)

also i have no idea about other model falcons, but assuming they have the same 3 wire setup you just have to work out which is which, you can't break it, so just have a go :D

 

_________________

Now With: HID LowBeam (Fkn Bright!)
Also Featuring: 17" Alloys (Mmmm Shiny), Aftermarket Central Locking, DBA Slotted Discs, EBC Greenstuff Pads, Lukey Cat Back, Clarion / Alpine Audio System, XR Steering Wheel, Blue Dials, Tint, Tickford Suspension, XR Bodykit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 4:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

hahahah it works a treat! now i have to stop myself from playing with the locks :P

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 6:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

mitch_anderson wrote:
hahahah it works a treat! now i have to stop myself from playing with the locks :P


Would a cartoon of some type of beer be sufficient for you to do it to mine? 8) Did you end up cracking/breaking any parts of trim in the process?

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3343

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Till_Lind wrote:
mitch_anderson wrote:
hahahah it works a treat! now i have to stop myself from playing with the locks :P

8) Did you end up cracking/breaking any parts of trim in the process?

Mitch doesn't have door trims lol... :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 2:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

yes i do...they are in my car...well 3 out of 4 that is...
hmm dunno about beer being enough for install tho :P tis a bit of a b**ch to do....just diy...biggest problem is running 2 extra wires into the door for the master lock :( thats my job tomoro...then just cleaning ithe car and i should be sweet :D

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 2159

Joined: 15th Nov 2005

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: TS40

Location: Latrobe Valley
VIC, Australia

yeah i remember the old girls car just locking and unlocking it self for about 5 mins while eventuly got in (right timing) and drove about 2 km's then it stoped but it hasn't happened to me yet the only thing my smart lock has started to do is lock itself when the cars not on...??? has this happened to any1 else and i havnt notised it has unlocked before so thats ok

 

_________________

Was - 2001 AUIII Ford Falcon Forte
Genuine T2 TS50 bodykit, 18" BF Cobras, Boge and Eibach Suspension and Complete AU2 Fairmont Ghia Interior

Now - 2012 FG Mk2 Ford Falcon XR6
Swift Green,6 Speed Auto, Stock... and a Fuel Card :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 12:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 681

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII Ghia

i put the master in my car so far and wired it up to make sure i caould get it to work beofre i did the rest (i did disconnect the other doors though)
but in the doco it says to connect the red with yellow stripe to the brown and yellow with black stripe to the white. but i found it was locking the car when it should have been unlocking the car so i reversed it to what it says in the doc and now its fine. was it a mistake in the docco?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:16 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 1

Joined: 6th Apr 2006

Ride: Falcon EF

Location: Glebe
NSW, Australia

kday wrote:
doco is up guys



Im the first time in this forum because I just discovered, that my Falcon EF station has exactly the same problem. How can I get a copy of the doco? Couldnt find a link though
Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 2:29 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4

Joined: 8th Apr 2006

Ride: falcon

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

Hey guys, this is my first post :shock:

My door lock motor in the passenger door stuffed up and I bought a replacement, but can't figure out how to get the damn old one out! it's like pop-riveted in there or something :x

should I just cut the f**k out??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:31 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

you drill out the rivets, and replace them.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 4  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:53 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names