Fordmods Logo

HELP: Cruise Control issues 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: HELP: Cruise Control issues
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 653

Joined: 2nd May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG G6E Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

CAR: 94 Ed Futura - stock cruise

OK this is what's happening,
When driving (over 60km/h) I turn my cruise control on, the cruise light comes on my dash and it won't set.

1) I have checked the vacuum lines and all works well (clutch/brake, the thing under the windscreen washer bottle and the adjacent side), all the vacuum hoses seem ok

2) When I turn the cruise off I hear a clicking noise coming from console bin (cruise control module is located there i believe),
in my old ED fairmont I never heard any clicking noises when dis-engauging cruise.


Can anyone tell me what may be wrong with my cruise control?
I am leaning towards cruise module being rooted


Thanks Adam

 

_________________

FG G6E Turbo
Grandpa Spec!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:16 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 137

Joined: 10th Nov 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BFII XR6T & ED

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Mine has always clicked and never as issue with the module. I don't think I have ever heard one that doesn't click.

Pull the cover off your steering wheel and make sure the contacts haven't come loose. Mine did exactly the same a couple of years ago and one of the contacts had come loose. Just bent it in a bit and put it back on.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 653

Joined: 2nd May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG G6E Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

OK never knew they all clicked from near the console

The wiring has been checked and double checked, it wont hurt to check again!, I will also try and look on the circit board behind the buttons for any broken lines.

The dodgy guy i brought it off have jumped started the car and placed the negative on the batery instead of the engine/chasis, he fried a few fuses and I am thinking the cruise module may be something else he fried.

Thanks
Adam

 

_________________

FG G6E Turbo
Grandpa Spec!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:14 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 144

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Location: Moonta
SA, Australia

go to a self serve wreckers and get another module that goes under the console unplug the old one and plug the new one in hopefully thats the problem if not it could be the ECU which is located behind the front passangers kick panel. if not either of them it probably wouldnt hurt to check the wires again and the actuator. if you cant get it working either buy another full stock one from the wreckers, go to ford and see if you can buy brand new stock ones or an aftermarket kit with buttons that attach to the steering wheel or modify the aftermarket e.g. desoldering the aftermarket buttons and soldering wires to the stock buttons or using the complete aftermarket buttons your choice. let me know how you go
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:40 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names