Fordmods Logo

Help! Smartlock gone crazy??? 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Help! Smartlock gone crazy???
Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 8:39 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 112

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Can anyone please help me. (almost) every time I go to unlock the doors, they immediately lock again. It started intermittently, but now is very consistent. There doesn't appear to be any unusual codes on the smartlock jewel on the dash.

I'm suspecting the BCM. Looking at the wiring diagram, I can't see any other inputs to the BCM that would control the door other than the door lock switch and the smartlock key fob.

Any other suggestions?

Cheers,
Dang.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Help! Smartlock gone crazy???
Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 850

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Forest Lake
QLD, Australia

Sounds like a door is not latching properly or a lock mechanism sticking. just my first instinct.

 

_________________

Regards,
Punnisher_42
_____________
2003 BA Fairmont - Stock standard
1994 U13 cough Nissan Cough Bluebird

Favorite Quotes:
"Sportwagon = homo-erotic wank-fest." - downingj

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 1:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2450

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: NL V8 Fairlane

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

It's Has nothing to do with smartlock which is an immobiliser. The central locking is screwing up which is not uncommon, sounds like an actuator on its way out.. Just have to find out which one it is.

 

_________________

There are 10 types of people in this world.
Those who know binary and those who don't.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 10:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

mine does this when the door lock pins arnt in properly..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 9:27 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 112

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Hmmm, I'll have to have a look at the latches then.

If I do need a new actuator, is there any difference between the doors? That is, do you get front and rear ones, or left and right ones, or front left, FR, RL and RR ones? Or are they all the same?

Thanks all for your thoughts.

Cheers,
DG.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 8:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

worked it out yet cheif? :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 9:21 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 112

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Nope, still head scratching.

I tried opening doors one by one and 'latching' them with a screwdriver to the closed position, pushing the 'door open' switch in and operating the locks, hoping it would work OK when the d**k latch was 'under test'.

No cigar. Still playing up after I tried this with all four doors.

Bugger. Looks like I'm up for new actuators.

Cheers,
DG.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2718

Joined: 27th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF & VTR1000

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

try taking the both front door lock pins out and see if it does it.. :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2450

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: NL V8 Fairlane

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ford charge something like $100 for each actuator and they are all different afaik which is why I suggest you find out which one is causing the problem. There are also different versions of actuator..

 

_________________

There are 10 types of people in this world.
Those who know binary and those who don't.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 9:38 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 112

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

OK, pardon my ignorance, but exactly what are the door lock pins?

If you mean the traditional door lock buttons on the top of the door trim, EL only has one on drivers door.

What does that tell me if it does or doesn't work after I've done that?

Haven't got around to pulling the internal trims off yet.

Glad to see they have got away from those infernal plastic pins to hold the trim on.

Cheers,
Dang.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 11:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 850

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Forest Lake
QLD, Australia

I don't know if this will help, but if the lock is adjar on my car, then the mechanism makes a clunking noise. all other doors go down and then come back up.
don't know if this will help.

 

_________________

Regards,
Punnisher_42
_____________
2003 BA Fairmont - Stock standard
1994 U13 cough Nissan Cough Bluebird

Favorite Quotes:
"Sportwagon = homo-erotic wank-fest." - downingj

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 1:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If the door lock button is down too far it will do the same thing(not letting the lock home all the way) get a small flat head drver and lever the button out from the window side (window down) push door lock down with door closed (no button on yet), then with a pair of pointy pliers pull out the plastic insert on the button but dont pull it off!! simply push the button onto the lock until it bottoms out. with the door locked the button should sit flush.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:38 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 55

Joined: 26th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Easy way - Unplug each door loom one at a time until the problem stops.

 

_________________

1xEB with full EF Ghia interior and AU motor
1xXF with EF engine and full EF wiring. Now with milled AU head and Wade 1004 cam - damn she goes now!

Both sedans, both manual, both fast! The xfs quicker tho; one day I'll even take em down the strip :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 9:20 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 112

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yes, I thought of doing that, but I wasn't sure whether a 'missing' actuator would upset the system or not.

Still haven't had a good chance to have a look at the beast. It's primarily my wifes car, and I haven't seen much of it lately!

(I have to be content with driving the ol' XY. A tough job, but someone's gotta do it! :) )

Cheers,
Dang.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 11:16 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 112

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Had a chance to pull the beast apart last night.

Started with #1 sons door (5 years old, that doors probably taken the most abuse.) Disconnected the actuator, hey presto, all working cool. But the actuator seems to work fine in both directions...

Reading les manual, I noted that the 'stall test' was to check that the actuator was not drawing more than the 6 amp limit.

Hmmm, I wonder if removing the one actuator reduced the total current draw to less than the total limit? Like I said, it is intermittent and seems to be heat related. Hotter it is, more likely to play up.

Perhaps the BEM monitors the total current draw when it grounds the UNLOCK line, freaks out if it is above the limit, and locks the doors again.

I've got a theory that the current sense resistor increases in value when it gets hotter, and that it is just on the limit. I'm getting my new Blue BEM from red_rocket this week 8-) , perhaps that will solve my problems? If I can find a 30A ammeter, I will try measuring the current across the door lock fuse.

I will test my BEM theory before I start spending $$$ on replacing actuators.

Thoughts, comments, suggestions?

DG.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:20 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names