Fordmods Logo

High Series Cluster for eb- Wiring Diagram 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: High Series Cluster for eb- Wiring Diagram
Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 12:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 930

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: EB SXR6 | ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

hi all i was just wondering if anyone has a wiring diagram for installing a high series cluster into an eb falcon. It used to be in the mods section but i cant find it. if anyone can give me any information on how to do it or the actual copy of what was up on here it would be much MUCH abliged!
email is: 13583183@studentmail.uws.edu.au

Cheers,

 

_________________

EB SXR6. ED XR8 Sprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 4:23 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Gimme a couple of days, and I will have the doco up here on the website.
I will also have a preliminary version of how to wire up the pesky door ajar LCD Screen for EA-EL High Series Clusters (Its a bit tricky, you need relays, and resistors to get the thing to work nicely, but it can be done)

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 4:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 930

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: EB SXR6 | ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

cmon im sure some one has done this, pleaseeeeeeeee????????

 

_________________

EB SXR6. ED XR8 Sprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 4:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 930

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: EB SXR6 | ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

haha we replied at the same time, thanks for that buddy :-)

 

_________________

EB SXR6. ED XR8 Sprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 4:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

u've got it in your car havnt u matti?
is it really worth it? and is it difficult to wire up?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 6:08 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah I have the NL Fairlance cluster in my (EF)......
For the EF/El Models, I would say its definitely not worth the effort.
One plug needs to be completely re-wried, then you need to run wires to each door, boot, and the Fuel Flap switch (Which needs to be added).

I had big problems when I did the conversion, the biggest one was leaving out the Self Adjusting rear suspension bulb on the cluster, which made the cluster beep like crazy whenever the car was running....

At the time I didnt know why, and was almost ready to smash the cluster piezo into a thousand peices Lol !

For the EA-ED models though, I think this is definitely a worth while thing to do....

Cheers

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Last edited by Matti on Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 6:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

oh well....i looks nice....but if its not worth it then i'll just have to pretty up the normal cluster...
if i can pick the cluster up for nothing tho...i mite have a go

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 8:06 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Here is the information for Upgrading the EA-ED Instrument Clusters.
http://www.fordmods.com/phpBB2/documents.php?doc=45

If anyone has pictures of the Low or High Series Clusters available, please send it to mij@tpg.com.au, and I will add the images to the doco.

(P.S. Wiring the LCD Car outline is coming up soon)

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 930

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: EB SXR6 | ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

ok ill hang on for the lcd wiring diagram to come i think! sorry i emailed you before i saw this. in the email i reffered to chopping the connectors and re wiring it to suit the new pin connector. there are a few extra things on the high series cluster which i couldnt find on the mid series cluster wiring diagram, can we just ignore them? also do you have to wire up the fuel flap? (as my car isnt automatic)

 

_________________

EB SXR6. ED XR8 Sprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 9:04 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Sorry for the late reply....
Ill get around to posting the LCD wiring details up in a couple of days.
(Been busy moving house :? )

You can safely ignore wiring up the fuel flap warning, though this is pretty easy to wire up...
The fuel flap ajar warning system uses a reed switch, and a magnet.
The magnet simply clips on to your fuel flap, and the reed switch screws on using one screw.
If you look near the fuel tank nozzle, you will see a blank rubber grommet.
The Reed switches wiring goes through this grommet (It comes with its own sealed grommet).
Once you have this reed switch part, all you need to do is connect one wire to ground, and the other to the fuel flap input on the cluster.

Your 2 existing connectors need to be modified, due to the high series cluster expecting the door ajar inputs on one of them.
Buuuuut, a lot of the warning lamps (Eg ABS, smartlock, self leveling suspension, etc, etc, you can safely leave disconnected).
Even the door ajar wiring you can leave disconnected, though what will happen is the doors will open and close every second.... Kinda looks like the car is trying to fly Lol !!

To make life simpler for yourself, have a look at removing the wires from the connectors, instead of cutting them, and soldering em back up.

Anyways, the main wires that you want connected are obviously speedo supply input and output, tacho, Illumination, Ignition Input, Ground, Battery, Alternator Fail, Brake Fail, Low Oil pressure warning, park brake, brake fail, and rear window demister.
(Basically The 16 pin lower connector is all VERY LOW PRIORITY, and you can leave that disconnected)

Hope this helps

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 12, 2004 6:51 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 51

Posts: 6

Joined: 10th Dec 2004

Location: maitland
NSW, Australia

hi all
i'm wanting to change from low end dash to high end dash in my eb.
i have all the instraments all the wiring from the head lights to the plug that goes to the rear harness.
witch includes climate control/ sensers /air box also trip computer /ecu
basicly a 1/2 cut less the body and engine.
the queston is can i just plug the dash harness in at foot level and just run the wire for the taco and water sensers or will i have to change the harness to the engine bay aswell ?.
if it is plug and play will it also take care of the door switch relay needs
because when i was geting all the parts all i could find was the door push buttons but not any relay system so i guessed it was under the dash or in the wiring somewhere.
also whats the white plastic box that's under the dash ?
i have read the changing dash document it seams to deal with rewiring just behind the cluster so i'm guessing the rest of the harness is just plug and play.
thanks...darren
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

here is what the wiring looks like before i installed mine ..

Did not like it though .. so went back to the mid cluster :)

Image

every one of those wire's needs to be rewired, even when the standard loom fits into the the 2 & 3 harness on the dash .

took me 2hours .. and ended up not liking it ..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 8:40 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 51

Posts: 6

Joined: 10th Dec 2004

Location: maitland
NSW, Australia

hi
i understand that it needs rewiring on the cluster end if i only change the cluster.the whole dash comes out easly so i'm not worried if i have to swap the whole harness.i want to install climate controll and trip computer so the whole dash has to come out any way to make the change.
but what about the other end? or should i change the engine bay harness
aswel.i have all the harness/sensers/ecu/fuse board relays every thing.
i just want to know how far along the harness does it change.
any help needed.
thanks..darren
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 7:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 930

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: EB SXR6 | ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

au2lo do you still have the dash plus the wiring you made up for it? interested in selling it? :D

 

_________________

EB SXR6. ED XR8 Sprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 7:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

BOSXR8 wrote:
au2lo do you still have the dash plus the wiring you made up for it? interested in selling it? :D


Yeah, still have it ... & the wiring loom .laying around somewhere lol .

offers please :)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:03 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names