Fordmods Logo

hooking up cruise control to ba xt falcon 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: hooking up cruise control to ba xt falcon
Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 35

Joined: 9th Jan 2007

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

hi guys, there is a wrecker that has a falcon with cruise control, but he does not know what to obtain for the cruise control. (usually does not do falcons). What is required to convert a ba xt wagon to cruise control?

 

_________________

EF Falcon Wagon (LPG) Tow Car - GGOONNEE
BA XT Falcon Wagon
Proton Satria 10.4@137mph at WSID

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: hooking up cruise control to ba xt falcon
Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:23 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 56

Posts: 235

Joined: 10th Feb 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA XR6,ED Wagon,EA Sedans,XF Ghi

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

boost_lover wrote:
hi guys, there is a wrecker that has a falcon with cruise control, but he does not know what to obtain for the cruise control. (usually does not do falcons). What is required to convert a ba xt wagon to cruise control?


As hard as this is to believe, I put cruise on my BA last year & I'm having trouble friggin remembering what I did :shock:
Bing!!!!!
I got the kit off ebay...think it was about $110 new.
It had the swithchs that fit on the steering wheel & a switch that went in a bracket above the brake pedal (real bugger to get that one in)
Then I took it to a Ford dealer & the activated it so the car recognized it now had cruise(that was another$50.
I have since bought a Elm which allows my to do all those things Ford charge a fortune for.
Also came in handy when I fitted the XR6 cluster as my BAMk1 did not have traction control so the Elm allowed me to get rid of the pesky T/C light that was always on!
Hope this helps!
Dave. :)

 

_________________

"When Cars Were Steel"
"Cars Were Real"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: hooking up cruise control to ba xt falcon
Posted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:23 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 35

Joined: 9th Jan 2007

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

so lets get this right, i need the following

- switches on the steering wheel
- switch near the brake pedal
- wires that go between switches

where does this plug into?

what is elm by the way???

 

_________________

EF Falcon Wagon (LPG) Tow Car - GGOONNEE
BA XT Falcon Wagon
Proton Satria 10.4@137mph at WSID

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: hooking up cruise control to ba xt falcon
Posted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 10:58 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 56

Posts: 235

Joined: 10th Feb 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA XR6,ED Wagon,EA Sedans,XF Ghi

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

boost_lover wrote:
so lets get this right, i need the following

- switches on the steering wheel
- switch near the brake pedal
- wires that go between switches

where does this plug into?

what is elm by the way???


The wiring & connections are already there from factory, you just dont have the swithches!
Check this out!
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Falcon-BA-cruise ... 87966QQcmd
But do not pay that much...as I said I got this exact same kit with full instructions for $140.00
You could try the wreckers also.
An Elm is an electronic device that you connect to the plug in the fuse box & to your computer!
You are than able to change or reset numerous settings within the car!(Very mind boggling what it can do )
I had Traction Control lights staying on when I put my XR6 cluster in, as mine does not have T/C.
Have a read!
http://www.ehow.com/how_5201394_use-scan-tool.html
Mine cost about $55 & saved me $80 the first time I used it. (Ford dealers must hate them LOL)
Cheers, Dave.
Can also was used to get the cruise aknowledged by the car.

 

_________________

"When Cars Were Steel"
"Cars Were Real"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: hooking up cruise control to ba xt falcon
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:43 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 35

Joined: 9th Jan 2007

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

mate gold. One question thou. Where did you get it from? I read the how to link you provided. thanks for that. But where did you buy the unit from? I want one lol. (i know im bad, i used a hsv saying. :evil: )

 

_________________

EF Falcon Wagon (LPG) Tow Car - GGOONNEE
BA XT Falcon Wagon
Proton Satria 10.4@137mph at WSID

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: hooking up cruise control to ba xt falcon
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:24 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 56

Posts: 235

Joined: 10th Feb 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA XR6,ED Wagon,EA Sedans,XF Ghi

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

:)
boost_lover wrote:
mate gold. One question thou. Where did you get it from? I read the how to link you provided. thanks for that. But where did you buy the unit from? I want one lol. (i know im bad, i used a hsv saying. :evil: )


I got mine off a guy on ebay who had purchaed it for around $200 (Way to much) & had traded the car for a BF with cruise before he got to fit it. It was brand new with instructions!
You can get on on ebay now for $169 "buy it now" or bidding on other new units with instructions are starting at $100.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ford-falcon-ba-c ... 3ca736cbad.
But remember once you have it fitted you will need Ford to activate it so the car knows its fitted!
Give your local dealer a call & as them how much to do this...Iv'e heard prices from $50-$80 depending on who you go to!
Good luck & enjoy your foot free driving.

 

_________________

"When Cars Were Steel"
"Cars Were Real"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: hooking up cruise control to ba xt falcon
Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 10:12 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1

Joined: 13th Apr 2015

Ride: BA XT Falcon Wagon

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Hey all,
Apologies for dragging up an ancient post!
I'm installing cruise on my XT wagon (auto) using a kit i bought from a wrecker. Ive been able to install the switches but im not sure if i need the brake switch - theres already an identical one in place.
Also -My local Ford dealer wants to charge me $120 to activate it. Does anyone know anyone in Geelong who can do it cheaper?
Thanks!
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:16 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names