Fordmods Logo

How to put neons in the foot area AU ford falcon 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Post subject: How to put neons in the foot area AU ford falcon
Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:31 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: 2000 Ford Falcon

NSW, Australia

Hey im really new to the whole mechanics and upgrading car scene.
i just got my 2000 ford falcon au, and i wanted to do a few modifications to it.
i wanted to put blue neon lights for driver + passanger foot area.
is it possible?
and how do i install it?
is there a special type of neon?
sorry im really new to this.

Post subject: Re: How to put neons in the foot area AU ford falcon
Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 6:39 pm 
Stock as a Rock

NSW, Australia

There is no special place to get neons from . Most repco stores have them but you have to wire them up to what ever circuit you want to use to light them up . In this case the interior lights so you will need to find the fuse for your interior/courtesy light and run the power from there

Posted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 4:32 pm 
Stock as a Rock

Ride: XH

NT, Australia

I spliced the wire to one of the interior lights and ran them from there. I got two little Aerpro neons for $20. With the LED roof globe it looks good without looking rice and over the top. Heaps brighter.

If you get neons or LED tubes make sure they don't have a mode switch and they are on/off only. To hold them up I just used cable ties. Cheap and not very professional but nobody can see them and they do the job.

Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: "08 XR6T Ute

QLD, Australia

Hmmm... Just wondering but you can wire them using the cigarette lighter right? And if yes, my next question... How the hell do you get the lighter out... Mine will not budge!
I got on eBay and bought 6 led stripes, I think they are the best to use (not as bulky/expensive as neon tubes... Much easier to make discret). 6 neon stripes for $40.

"08 XR6T Ute

Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:02 pm