Fordmods Logo

I6 cluster to v8 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: I6 cluster to v8
Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 2:01 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 147

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EF Falcon S6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

just brought a fairmont lcd cluster and then realised it was a I6 doh! is the tacho the only thing that will be wrong? is there anyway to change it so the tacho reads correct?

 

_________________

360 CL Lebaron
Whipple EF

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 2:30 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 156

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: AU Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

From what I have heard clusters are the same, tacho same as I6 and V8, ecu sends the pulses to tacho, not a dizzy

 

_________________

98 AU Falcon Futura I6 ABS & Cruise stock (The Wifes car

99 AU Falcon Duel Fuel - Xcab

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 8:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

jim3964 wrote:
From what I have heard clusters are the same, tacho same as I6 and V8, ecu sends the pulses to tacho, not a dizzy


I6 clusters / tachos won't work in a V8 .

If you have ever had a look at aftermarket tacho's they have a switch, for 4cyl, 6cyl, and 8cly ..

You will need a V8 cluster .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 9:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

if you unscrewed the V8 tacho and put it in the I6 cluster would it work correctly? (The actual tacho just screws out)

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 9:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

fordzatmyplace wrote:
if you unscrewed the V8 tacho and put it in the I6 cluster would it work correctly? (The actual tacho just screws out)


Maybe, i have no idea, cos i've never done that, but try it and let us know if it works, i've just changed clusters before, but taken many apart to fix the speedo gear problems!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

altedxr6 wrote:
fordzatmyplace wrote:
if you unscrewed the V8 tacho and put it in the I6 cluster would it work correctly? (The actual tacho just screws out)


Maybe, i have no idea, cos i've never done that, but try it and let us know if it works, i've just changed clusters before, but taken many apart to fix the speedo gear problems!


I've got to buy an I6 digital cluster then! My V8 one is stuffed and i can't seem to find a V8 cluster at a good price. every one wants $100+ for them!

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:39 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 147

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EF Falcon S6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I cant be bothered with modding all the wiring, if im going to find out it wont work, so you can buy mine if you want for $50

 

_________________

360 CL Lebaron
Whipple EF

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 2:43 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names