Fordmods Logo

Installation of Trip Computer in EF/EL Futura 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Installation of Trip Computer in EF/EL Futura
Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:00 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 10

Joined: 2nd Apr 2008

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Just wondering if anyone has any idea as to how to install a trip computer into an EF/EL. just wanted to know how difficult it is and are there wires to plug the trip computer in at the back of the clock? Any info is appreciated... TA

 

_________________

Nathan H

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:26 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Easy.

Add three wires, relocate some others, and remove one.

Tech Doco:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=32


Should take no more than 45mins if you can drive a soldering iron.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:01 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

45mins with a couple of beer breaks!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 7:44 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 10

Joined: 2nd Apr 2008

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

i found the tech info sheet. but i have pulled all the panels out and have found the right hand cluster plug but i cant find that blue and red data wire.. if u have to run the wire to the trip computer where is it????

 

_________________

Nathan H

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 8:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

it doesn't exist they mean you have to add it in, I'd get a spare cluster plug down the wreckers cut it up for pins sold abut a meter or so of wire between 2 pins fit them to the plug at either end

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 8:18 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

As above, you have to add it.

And don't go butchering a wire and slap it in thinkin... "she'll be right mate."

Dissect the RHS plug, and add the blue data wire.
Obtain the others from the demistor/antenna switch or Lighter.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 8:53 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 10

Joined: 2nd Apr 2008

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

ok so the wire goes from that pin witch u have to add to the cluster, then it plugs in and u run the wire to the trip computer??? is that right??

 

_________________

Nathan H

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 8:56 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

yep, around 100cm's of single wire.

Likewise, jumble the clock pins around to suit the Trip Computer, and add a few move for the illumination. as the doco instructs.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:02 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 10

Joined: 2nd Apr 2008

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

cool thanks mate.. i'll give it a crack tomorrow and let u know how it goes..

 

_________________

Nathan H

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:29 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 10

Joined: 2nd Apr 2008

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

its all done thanks for the help.. works a treat...

 

_________________

Nathan H

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 8:18 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 123

Joined: 2nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: 3x Toranas

Location: Salisbury
SA, Australia

Once you go Trip, you'll never go back!

My mate and I attempted installing one on my mates Futura using the tech doco, was a bit confusing at first, but when I tackled it on my own, on my car, a couple of weeks after, peice of piss... Just a hint, don't use scotch lock as a wire joiner junction. My mate gave me that advice come time to do mine hehe

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:57 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names