Fordmods Logo

installing rear power windows in futura ef 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: installing rear power windows in futura ef
Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 12:15 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 30

Joined: 20th Nov 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hi all, just a quick question, is it a simple enough task (and cheap enough) to fit rear power windows to my futura? or would it get tricky such as major wiring loom changes/ecu/body module change?

my idea is to get all the window regs/door trim bits from pick-a-part which should be cheap enough.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 1:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 946

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA Falcon & G220 Lane

Location: Edgewater
WA, Australia

yep simple as and if you looked round a tad might even find a techo document somewhere showing you how to complete the job.

 

_________________

4.0lt Balanced Bottom End, ACL Race Internals, Rspec4 Cam, BPT Swichchip, PH4480, 2.5' Lukey, Scorcher Bodykit, T5 Manual
237RWHP
Image

frd906 wrote:
LOLLOLLOLLOLOLLOLLOLLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 1:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

AFAIK.

Rear window wiring will not be there. Simplest way to get this will be adding rear fairmont door looms. To get power to these, you could add the wires from the central switch, or change the body loom. Id probably just add the wires.

The console switch will need to be changed, of course.

The regs will obviously swap straight in. Bem is fine.

You have the option of using fairmont door trims, but obviously this wont match.

What I would do is obtain the fairmont rear trims, then swap the big door handles and switch onto the futura trims. Not sure how you would cover up the winder hole though.

The fabric piece could be fixed by cutting two front fabric pieces to shape and using the factory front fabric wrapped on them.

The big handle may even cover the factory hole, im not sure.

Otherwise, you can just add the fairmont trims all round to match.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 1:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

Or buy a fairmont.

This is not overly difficult but can be a time consuming task. As far as I know the futura has the fairmont loom already so wiring should be a cinch. Tony (Fiend) reckons he didnt have to do a lot of wiring. I am swapping the whole loom from my fairmont wreck so as to get it all in one hit.

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:56 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 59

Posts: 180

Joined: 8th Jul 2006

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: BFII Fairmont Ghia, Silver

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

dan1_721 wrote:
What I would do is obtain the fairmont rear trims, then swap the big door handles and switch onto the futura trims. Not sure how you would cover up the winder hole though.

There's also the issue of the rear-door armrests in the Futura (and GLi). They're part of the whole door trim and can't be detached. See pic.

You could always rat more parts from the Fairmont trims but will it all match with the Futura front doors? Fairmont trims have velour on them.

 

 

Attachments:
EL Falcon_rear door trim detail.jpg
EL Falcon_rear door trim detail.jpg [ 17.59 KiB | Viewed 1023 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1863

Joined: 30th Apr 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

All you really need to get it working is the rear door looms, rear window switches, and a new 4 window console switch assembly - as well as the 2 rear window regs by the way!

Very simple job IMO, the body loom is already Fairmont spec, and the plug for the new rear door looms will be sitting in the rear door jam in the B pillar.

As far as door trims go, you could attempt to cover up the winder hole with the rear switches, or just get some Fairmont door trims all round to match.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 30

Joined: 20th Nov 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

cool

trims are no issue, i would get velour fairmont trims with armrests, and put my futura inserts back in with holes for switch/armrest (or actually pick up a second pair of rear inserts, so i have an untouched spare set)

so.
-need cup holder with four switches, that plugs in same as two switch set up, no issue?

-trims sorted.

-regs should plug straight in, just need to find the plug?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 9:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

yeah go to pick a part and get the looms from an NA, there are plenty of them.

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 9:26 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

EA-ED/NA/NC etc plugs in the rear door pillar differ to the EF/EL ones.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

So now you should just need the rear door looms from a fairmont etc. Or add the wiring to yours.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:01 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 30

Joined: 20th Nov 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

so what is involved in removing a fairmont loom and installing it in my futura? i can get one from pick-a-part, but not sur ehow to go about it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 996

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: BA XR6T ute

Location: frankston
VIC, Australia

adding the wires is easier and cheaper if u want bring ur car over and ill do it for ya
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:21 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 30

Joined: 20th Nov 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

how exactly do you add the wires then? fairmonts at pick-a-part have the door looms. what part do i remove, and how do i join them in?
thanks again for the help.

i bought i nice set of velour trims for it and i just have to organise buttons for the cupholder and doors and the motors.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 996

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: BA XR6T ute

Location: frankston
VIC, Australia

if u dont grab the looms just get some wire from jaycar theres a wiring diagram in the technical document section
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:42 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 30

Joined: 20th Nov 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i can't find the wiring document
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:53 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names