Fordmods Logo

Installing trip computer 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Installing trip computer
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 8:31 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 359

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EBII T5

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ive run all the wires neccassary for the trip computer in my EBII, the clock works fine and saves the time fine when car is off, so power wiring is fine...

problem is, i cant get it to tell me L/100km, avg L/100km etc...
ive connected the Green/Yellow to the Green/Yellow wire on the computer, why wouldnt this be working? apart from a faulty trip computer? anyone else had this problem?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 10:02 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 159

Joined: 16th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Mate, the green / yellow wire may be different in your loom. Did you find the one out of the computer or aftre the plug that connects the engine loom to the dash loom. I think they change colour there. Mine had slightly diff colours in places. It also needs the line for the fule guage also for it to work correctly.

 

_________________

'94 ED XR8 Sprint

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:57 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 359

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EBII T5

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i connected it to the wire on the ECU, behind the kick panel...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:16 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 159

Joined: 16th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hmm ok Not sure what the issue may be.
Exactly what functions do not work and I will check the manual for possible issues.

 

_________________

'94 ED XR8 Sprint

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 3:46 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 83

Joined: 8th Mar 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: BF XR8

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Have you got the blue data wire connected to the cluster?

 

_________________

2006 BF XR8 - Lightning Strike with Orange Stripes - Herrod quad system with Herrod extractors, Herrod ram air intake kit, Coil overs, Whiteline swaybars, Kumho KU36's.

More mods to come! (3.73 Diff ratios)

Ex 97 EL Futura, 04 XR6 and 07 XR8 Owner.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 2:15 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 359

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EBII T5

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah ive got the blue wire connected...
basically, it wont tell me instant L/100km and average L/100km... it tells me how many kays ive got left in the tank, obviously going by data sent via the cluster?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ??
Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 2:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

I thought the blue data wire is only in EF/EF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 3:05 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 83

Joined: 8th Mar 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: BF XR8

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Blue data wire is on all trip putas ... it sends the info from the cluster to the trip puta...

Id say that it is a faulty unit if all the wiring is connected right... :(

 

_________________

2006 BF XR8 - Lightning Strike with Orange Stripes - Herrod quad system with Herrod extractors, Herrod ram air intake kit, Coil overs, Whiteline swaybars, Kumho KU36's.

More mods to come! (3.73 Diff ratios)

Ex 97 EL Futura, 04 XR6 and 07 XR8 Owner.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ??
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Sorry to disagree but EA/ED use signals from the sensors direct. EF/EL actually use a DATA (Serial DATA from EEC via cluster)

EA/ED pick up speedo and fuel sigs from cluster and injector pulse width from the EEC

EF/EL use a true data line (blue shielded wire) for all its info, unless the ford manual circuits are wrong.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:57 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names