Fordmods Logo

Installing trip computer. 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Installing trip computer.
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 171

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

Finally getting around to installing my trip computer. Is it easier to cut my plug off and graft the trip computer plug into my wiring or remove the pins and install them into my existing clock plug? If this is the case, how do you remove the pins? Where do I get the pin for the dash plug?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 4:51 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Use the clock plug, its easier.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:21 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 171

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

Need to know how the pins come out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 10:14 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Why?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:20 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 171

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

Needed to use the pins. I got the pins out of the plug now and I'll add them to the clock plug. Is the pins from the clock plug the same size as the pins on the dash plug?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

yeah, all the same s**t, I personally cut a plug out of the dash with about 50mm of wire left on the pins, smashed it up to get the pins out. Then I crimped 2 wires to the demister, and 2 I soldered together with a suitable length and connected up, funnily enough I had the same problem...
Don't forget to move the white piece back to get the pins in.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:10 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 171

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

Were the pins for the dash plug the same as the clock plug?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

yeah as i said above all the same, I used a plug from both instrument cluster and a clock of another just for bunch of spare pins.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:36 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 171

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 4:22 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 171

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

On the demister plug is a brown wire with 2 silver rings and the cigarette illumination is a brown wire with 1 silver ring. Does this make any difference?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 8:59 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 171

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

Another bloody question grrrrrrrrr. Newish cars and all their s**t. On the wiring diagram I have the wire for the trip computer that comes from the dash connector has a shield with a black wire connected to ground. The wire I have installed has the black wire also. Question is how long does the shielded wire need to be and do I really need to connect the ground wire at all?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:30 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

You shouldn't be touching the shielded black wire for a TC install.

Make sure the plug on the RHS is the correct way up when looking to add the Blue data wire!

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:40 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 171

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

That was the easy part. Wiring diagram I have show this wire as having a shield which just makes me start wondering and asking more questions.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:43 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Have you read 'our' diagrams?

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=32

and cluster wiring:

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=14

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:56 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 171

Joined: 7th Mar 2006

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

Yes I have seen the installing trip computer one and it is very helpful. Do I really need to cut the No.2 wire when on the trip computer there is no pin there anyway?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 12:59 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names