Fordmods Logo

Instrument cluster not working 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Instrument cluster not working
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hi from Qatar,

Long time, no post. While I'm over here my uncle has my Fairmont in Central Queensland and the other day while driving Yeppoon to Rockhampton the instrument cluster stopped working all together (no speedo, revs, petrol gauge, etc.).

The car is running, but he doesn't know how fast he's going or how much petrol. I told him it would probably be a fuse, and he says he'll have a poke around the fuse box (my uncle knows very little about cars).

Can anyone confirm the problem? And yes I see search isn't working on the new forums yet, I would of done that otherwise. Website is look good.

Thanks folks,

Adam

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Instrument cluster not working
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 12:09 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 21

Joined: 3rd Jan 2009

Ride: 94 EF falcon

Location: Taree
NSW, Australia

well then i was installing my trip computer the same thing happened...



it was 3 fuses, "stop LPS", "Rev LPS" and "Inst Batt"


but have a look at "Inst Ign" too, cos mine was abit hard to see so i just replaced them..

hope that helps mate.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Instrument cluster not working
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

3 or more hey, definately too much for my uncle, lol. Cheers for that.

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Instrument cluster not working
Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 3:27 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 45

Joined: 2nd Oct 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Salt Ash NSW
NSW, Australia

I hope it's just a fuse for your sake.. I almost melted my entire wiring harness when the voltage regulator gave way on the alternator... The volt guage would climb up to 16 then all instruments would drop out until you loaded the cars electrical system right up (eg, lights on+highbeam+driving lights, 16c climate control with fan on H, etc.) put a multimeter on the terminals and it was charging at something like 22v :S not fun!
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:36 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names