Fordmods Logo

is it possible to put a fairmont loom in a gli? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: is it possible to put a fairmont loom in a gli?
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:31 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 236

Joined: 4th Jan 2010

Ride: el wagon

Location: garfield
VIC, Australia

hey guys, i have recently had problems with an alarm system i tried to disconnect. the alarm will now not allow the car to start, and has wires running to all parts of the dash.
I have my dash ouut, as i wyas putting a manual pedalbox in my car.
I think that i should Replace the whole dash loom and hopefully the car will start.
My question is.
will an el/ef fairmont wiring loom and bcm plug into an el gli?
Then i could have a trip computer and climate control.
And do you think it will fix the problem of the immobilser?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: is it possible to put a fairmont loom in a gli?
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:47 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 214

Joined: 7th Nov 2006

Ride: Territory TS TDCi

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

it depends where they cut the wires to the ignition, it might be cut between the ignition switch and the plug that joins the dash loom.

if its an EL you will need an EL dash loom as the EF loom is different. then its just plug and play providing you have all the climate bits and the bcm.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: is it possible to put a fairmont loom in a gli?
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:56 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 236

Joined: 4th Jan 2010

Ride: el wagon

Location: garfield
VIC, Australia

well its cut into the dash loom. So i think it should be ok shouldnt it?
Is there much involved in putting climate control in?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: is it possible to put a fairmont loom in a gli?
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 214

Joined: 7th Nov 2006

Ride: Territory TS TDCi

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

gasdea wrote:
well its cut into the dash loom. So i think it should be ok shouldnt it?
Is there much involved in putting climate control in?


check out the technical doco documents.php?d=8

but if your using a fairmont dash loom most of the wiring is already done. you will need the vacuum control module (plus the colored vacuum hoses), fan speed controller, blend door motor (plus the little plastic crank as its different to the manual one), sunload sensor (goes on top of the dash) and ambient temp sensor (sits under the front bumper) .

if yours has ABS the wiring for the ambient temp sensor should be there already, otherwise you will need to either run your own wires or grab the loom that goes under the drivers side guard. this will also give you the low coolant sensor wiring as well. sounds like a lot but its really easy. its possible to put the blend door motor in as well without taking out the heater box.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:57 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names