Fordmods Logo

Laptop Trip Computer (EF/L) 

 

Page 4 of 6 [ 83 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

 
Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:17 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 110

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

Data-Mine....what program are u using for GPS, ive ordered a Dell Axim, i went with instead of an ipaq coz of price and features that i wanted/or didnt want. Did u buy the GPS sleeve thingo, or did u get a third party product eg. SDIO Now! GPS card or sumfin? Im keen to get into it.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:19 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I use 'Destinator' as software. Great but hard to find (and $$).

I've got a Navman GPS Sleeve, and a Haicom CompactFlash GPS card. I most regularily use teh haicom, it seems to attain fixes quicker, plus it has an external antenna port. When I bough an external antenna (which 'magnets' onto the roof) fixes are fast and accurate.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:26 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Any updates one this?

I'd like to grab the schematic you use so I can tinker with my EEC tweaking too.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

toymachine wrote:
Sounds great guys, im getting a little lost, i didnt read right in depth to it. But if we could make use of this on a PDA, that would be sweet as. Set up a little rig having it displaying all the info.....ill be in suspense. Well worthwhile project! keep it up


A bluetooth thing wouldn't go to bad either. maybe a little to far ahead

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 11:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

lol, well since this thead has been dug up.. Thanks data_mine :lol: saved me the trouble.

I wanna hear updates too..

Also my hand up for help to finish this as Im doing it anyway.



Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Laptop trip comp
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 12:18 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 112

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Yeah, been a while since I have played with this. Yet another one for the unfinished project pile. Now I actually have a laptop, I should probably get back into it.....

As for a circuit to read the data, use a max232, use a transistor to level shift the 10V unipolar signal to TTL, and then download realterm terminal server, set the baud to 1000. If the signal looks crap, click the invert RX box.

Good luck lads,
Dang.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 1:43 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I picked up a USB dev board from Jaycar a while ago, IIRC it's digital inputs are isolated, should handle more than 5V, so I'll see if I can give it a go.

Now to find some time in which to do it.

http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=KV3600

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 3:11 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

thanks for the info dang, thats similar to what Ive got now circuit wise, just haven't had time to complete it all. I'll get stuck into it soon enough


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 8:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

I know that the trip comp gets a tacho signal as well, cause when the EMS was installed, i lost tacho and some of the trip functions( interesting point, without the tacho feed and a full tank, it read 630k to empty). I could get average speed, but that was it. Couldnt get inst fuel, av fuel or accurate distance to empty.
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:05 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

the tacho is seperately wired from the ECU.. can't remember the pin number, but its not through DOL, not for the dash.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 1:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Then how come when i lost my tacho, i also lost half my trip comp. I say it is, but i am no expert on electronics as you know
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 7:56 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

That'd be because the smarts of the trip computer are actually in the cluster, NOT the trip comp. (ie. diag mode on the cluster, has all the TC info).

So if the cluster's not getting a tacho signal, the cluster can't calculate the info to send to the TC for display (which is all it does apart from the clock).

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:19 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Thought Id post this up.

Credit goes to Dang for this, I just finished off his circuit, and added names, so forth.

Note, MAX232A's use 0.1uF caps instead of the 1uF's.

Also the LM7805 is just a 5V fixed voltage regulator, which can be substituted with anything else.

And the 2N2222 can also be replaced with whatever basic transistor.

All of these can be bought at jaycar if anyone was wondering.

To top it all off, its late, so any mistakes let me know, I just quickly sketched it up.

Good luck.

Now, back to it for me :D

Cheers

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: How to read DOL
DOLReader.JPG
DOLReader.JPG [ 82.44 KiB | Viewed 163 times ]

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 12:08 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

TerroristGHIA wrote:
Then how come when i lost my tacho, i also lost half my trip comp. I say it is, but i am no expert on electronics as you know
Brett


I had the same issue when I installed the MoTeC. I couldn't even drive the tacho with the MoTeC's tacho output. Never got around to figuring it out.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 12:08 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Nice work there Dima!! :)

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 6  [ 83 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:47 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names