Fordmods Logo

LCD Odometer 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 29 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: LCD Odometer
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 2:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Has anyone tried changing the colour of the odometer in EF/EL to a different colour (from orange to xxxx)

im going to have a crack at it but hoping some ppl have already tackled it and give any tips on what to look out for and stuff...

ive seen a few pics on how to change the clock but not sure if itll be the same.. im assuming its just changing the filter paper.

anything to worry about like screws, pins etc cheers

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1983

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Reindeer

Location: Kinloss
NSW, Australia

It has been done, i have seen a few blue ones and red ones.

check the tech doco area, may give you a hand.

 

_________________

Its people like you that make people that kill other people, sleep easier at night.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeah can u just change the filter paper ... just make sur eit all aligned up right when u put it back together otherwise the diaply wont diplay the numbers properly.

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

don't use paper as a filter it looks s**t, your better off using that material thats used in folder dividers. If you wanna change the filter colour, i suggest you convert the globes to LEDs as well, you will get a much better effect

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 12:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yer display books at kmart,,. good investment.. although i cracked the friggen lcd when i was tightening it.. wasnt paying attention.. gonna goto wreckers pick up a cluster.

ill post pics when its all done

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 12:16 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

.... and swap the EEPROM over.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 1:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

;)

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 4:55 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 37

Joined: 29th Oct 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

data_mine wrote:
.... and swap the EEPROM over.


how come?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 5:46 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Guess ti depends on if you just swap the LCD, or the whole cluster. If it's the whole cluster you'll need to swap the EEPROM to keep your odometer

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 5:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

itll just be the lcd... how much is a 2nd hand cluster from wreckers... its not something i have looked at just as yet.. any ball park figures? $50? $100

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 6:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

theblackone wrote:
itll just be the lcd... how much is a 2nd hand cluster from wreckers... its not something i have looked at just as yet.. any ball park figures? $50? $100


i saw a low series EF cluster go on ebay for $5. Good luck getting one at the wreckers for that price!

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 7:19 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 963

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Liberty MY04 4GEN Luxury

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I tried the folder stuff as a filter but it was too dark, maybe sometime when I can be stuffed I'll do a perfect blue. Heres a pic...

Image

 

_________________

www.lukehimself.net

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 7:50 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I used a bit of tissue paper and a blue Narava LED lobe behined it, same in trip comp. Make sure you sand down the top of hte globe to spread the light evenly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 11:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

twirqurky wrote:
I used a bit of tissue paper and a blue Narava LED lobe behined it, same in trip comp. Make sure you sand down the top of hte globe to spread the light evenly.


you did that to the narva? what was the part number of the LED you used?

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 11:52 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 37

Joined: 29th Oct 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

you dont have to sand :P

here is mine unsanded....

lukey does your green trip computer dim when the lights are turned on?

Image

with mine it is a lot brighter than that, it's just the camera.

If you do choose to "frost" the led's you do get a more even distribution but I tend to like my brighter needles :)

I just need to fix the (dimmness?) of the trip computer as it dims a lot when the lights are turned on ..

ohh and I used a red folder for that filter (Thanks to Laximah :D)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:22 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names