Fordmods Logo

NL Cluster into a EF 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: NL Cluster into a EF
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 1:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 533

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF XR8 UTE

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Hey guys im looking into putting a NL Cluster into my EF Falcon. What is involved in doing this? ( Like how much extra wiring n stuff do i have to do to get it to work?)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

dude take a little look at http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=14 it will tell EVERYTHING u need regarding changing clusters. I am about 99.9% sure that a NL cluster is the same as a NF

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:35 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

The problem with fitting a Fairlane cluster is that, unless you go to the trouble of wiring up the extra door and fuel switches, it's just not worth doing. You may as well just throw a mid-series cluster in.

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NL Cluster into a EF
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:05 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

stixinc wrote:
Hey guys im looking into putting a NL Cluster into my EF Falcon. What is involved in doing this? ( Like how much extra wiring n stuff do i have to do to get it to work?)


Along with the excellent document by Matti in the mod doco's section there are some recent threads on that subject:
http://www.fordmods.com/phpBB2/viewtopi ... es+cluster

http://www.fordmods.com/phpBB2/viewtopi ... es+cluster

Hope this assists you.
Cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 10:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2976

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BF Typhoon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

comhelp wrote:
dude take a little look at http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=14 it will tell EVERYTHING u need regarding changing clusters. I am about 99.9% sure that a NL cluster is the same as a NF

nf - nfii - nl clusters are all identical just for the record to make getting ahold of one easier.

 

_________________

BF Typhoon, Dejavu - 6sp Auto, Leather, Sunroof, 19"s, Electric Pedals, Tint, FPV Sports Wheel, FPV Mats.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 11:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 533

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF XR8 UTE

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Thanks for all of that guys. It seems to be a lot more work to it than i thought but i think i'll still go through with it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 11:58 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 533

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF XR8 UTE

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Is there anyone who would do it for me? Im able to pay $$$ for it to be done and i may also incluse 2 slabs of what ever you like. (It's that or i get an auto elec to do it)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 3:51 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Did you get all the door swtiches, the fuel release door sensor and the 3rd plug for the cluster.

This is a mod I've been wanting to do for a while, as I like the NF/NL cluster, just wasnt prepared to make my car the test subject... But I do have the factory Ford wiring book to make it easy... Maybe one day.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 4:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

the easiest thing to do would be to use a fairlane loom which will already have all the plugs and no cut and connect wiring will be required ... having said that it is a huuuge job, but if you really want to do it take plenty of photos!!

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 4:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 2215

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: Oettinger Golf GTI

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

ive got a NF fairlane loom if anyone wants :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 4:42 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Why would you wanna buy a loom when all you need to do is add 8 to 10 wires under the dash... :D

Besides, the looms are slightly different in design, so some chopping and changing is required as well as being about 2 foot longer.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:05 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 514

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: V8 VE Calais V Spec

Power: 262 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Dont forget fairlane loom means you need.
1) To do a climate control conversion (The Fairlane loom wont plug up to the stock heater controls
2) High series BEM Conversion (Fairlanes ONLY have a High series BEM)
3) Variable Dimmer switch (For the high series Bem)
4) Variable wiper stalk (For the high series bem)
5) still wire all the doors, boot, and fuel flap up....

Also paying someone to do this will be Expensive.
Its a fair bit of work if you dont have the Fairlane plugs.
I couldnt get a hold of one, so I had to solder EVERY connection on one of the connectors, directly on the board, and then I used computer DB25 connectors, and then spliced directly in to the cars wiring.
Not very pretty, but it works, which is all I really wanted anyway.
2 Days to solder up the cluster and DB25 connectors
1 Day to splice into the existing loom
2 Days to build and fit the door open trickery to get the Door open LCD stuff working...
Auto Elecs charge $50-$70 an Hour. Say they work 8 hour days, and can do it in half the time I can....
Thats still $800 ! (Not including the cost of the cluster).
With a fairlane plug, you could knock it down to half a day to get the cluster running (Except the door open LCD, which would still take 1-2 Days)

Its the sort of mod that If you arent willing to give it a shot yourself, then its not worth forking out $$$$ to get it done !

 

_________________

VE Calais V8, IQ, HSV instruments and brembos fitted.
IQ, IPC, BCM all hacked and programmed without TECH2 :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: NL Cluster in EF
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

One thing to be wary about as I discovered yesterday with my NL cluster in my EF is that the speedo is now out by 7%.
Sitting on 120kph indicated at the millage markers should equate to 2k's per minute or the 4k sign should come up in 2 minutes, mine is now taking 2min 9 seconds for the 4k's, thats 111.6kph. I am sure that my original cluster indicated within 2%.
Cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Last edited by twase on Mon Apr 04, 2005 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

fuzion wrote:
ive got a NF fairlane loom if anyone wants :P


you given up on your cc mod??

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:23 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names