Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

No Data Line in My EF Futura Cluster - Help Required ! 


Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 Post subject: No Data Line in My EF Futura Cluster - Help Required !
Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:56 am 
Parts Gopher
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 57

Joined: 12th Sep 2007

Ride: BF Falcon XR6 N/A

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi there guys,I got a 1995 EF Futura. I got myself a Trip computer for free,today i started to install it, when i unplugged the right plug of the cluster, i was surprised as there was no wire on pin 14. YES, i mean there was no blue wire on pin 14, pin 14 slot was empty. There are two other blue wires, one is Blue with white strip and another one just solid blue (pin 8). I am attaching the picture of the plug as i opened it today. I am not sure what to do :( any help will be appreciated,cheers.



26112007083.jpg [ 59.71 KiB | Viewed 59 times ]
26112007081.jpg [ 81.9 KiB | Viewed 60 times ]



2006 BF Falcon XR6 N/A - <current>
1995 EF Falcon Futura

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
User avatar

Posts: 2643

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Thats correct you need to run it yourself, it goes to pin one on the tc plug. It should go to the 4th hole from the left on the top row in your picture.



BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:56 am 
Technical Contributor
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

This is correct.
There is No data wire in a GLi/Futura/XR plug, you have to add it.

Gently remove the white clamp on the plug and pull it back with jewelers screwdrivers.

Grab a few crimped ends from a wreckers, and simply 'press it in position' and you have your data line!.

shouldn't take more than 3 minutes to add a wire once you've figured out how to dismantle the plug without damage.



Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Age: 34

Posts: 516

Joined: 3rd Dec 2004

Ride: SZ Titanium & ZG Fairlane

Location: Roxby Downs
SA, Australia

Just strip the end of the wire a bit and push it in the hole and put the plug in if you have no pins. Been working for about 2.5 years for me.



F6 Rspec #139 - Stock Car Racing

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 9:46 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

^ i soldered the end of wire, in my EL. Worked like a charm.



1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum



It is currently Mon Oct 24, 2016 4:54 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours



(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names