Fordmods Logo

On/Off Switch for Power Invertor?? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: On/Off Switch for Power Invertor??
Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 3:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 552

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Ride: XR Fairmont

Location: Western Suburbs
VIC, Australia

Hey guys,

i should be installing all my interior back into my car in a couple of weeks.

Just need to know if i can some how attach an on/off switch to control my power invertor in the boot.
I want to be able to turn it on and off from my dash or somewhere around there.

Im not 100% when connecting power & switches, but give me car audio or home theatre systems and im fine.

im actually looking at putting 2 or 3 switches in.
1) Power Invertor On/Off Switch
2) Musical Horn, which i have had for quite some time
3) Maybe Driving Lights

so if some of you sparkies can help with the power invertor switch, would be greatly appreciated seeing as my dad is overseas at the moment.

Once i know if i can put one and what type of switch i need i will look at where to mount one, nothing too flashy though

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 4:57 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

What inverter is it. The better ones have a switch already, so it'd be a matter of moving the switch and extending the wires to it.

The real high end ones, come with a remote switch already.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 5:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1679

Joined: 9th Jul 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BA XR6 TURBO

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

well there would be 2 ways id imagine. I wouldnt go out and do this as stereos and neons and stuff r about as far as my electronics go but the theory is all pretty much the same.. if it does not have a switch already: when u run the wires to the battery, half way through place a switch? any1 help? maybe run some wires from the power to the switch, then keep them running... not to sure on that one.
But if it has a switch on the box, unscrew the switch and pull it out... cut wires and extrend them 2 the cabin. or tap into them, make sure power inverter switch is "on", and then run some wires to the cabin with a switch on the end. that way the power inverter switch will always be on, but the switch in cabin will be turning it on and off... hope that makes a little sense, im not 2 good with explaining
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:40 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

That's about right.

If you don't have an inverter already, be sure to get one with a on/off switch already included, it'll make the job far easier.

If not, you'll have to find a heavy duty 12V switch (capable of taking the 8 or 4GA cable most inverters will need), or a fancy relay setup.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 9:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 889

Joined: 23rd Aug 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1984 XE Falcon

Location: South East Melb
VIC, Australia

1)heavy duty switch or relay setup - assuming that the inverter doesn't have a switch built in, otherwise tap it and relocate it to the dash or where ever
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 12:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 552

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Ride: XR Fairmont

Location: Western Suburbs
VIC, Australia

The invertor does have a switch.

so your saying to open it up, take off the switch and extend the wires into the cabin where i want it?
will that affect the power or invertor in any way?
if not ill do it because thats easy

otherwise i was thinking the other way is to have a switch along the power line between the battery and the invertor?
what i was thinking of if possible was have the power run through the firewall behind the dash to a switch and then continue the power line from the switch and beind the kick panel along the side of the car to the boot?

if i want to do it that way is there different types of switches?
or is it best just to relocate the existing switch?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 1:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

JohnnyFX wrote:
The invertor does have a switch.

so your saying to open it up, take off the switch and extend the wires into the cabin where i want it?
will that affect the power or invertor in any way?
if not ill do it because thats easy

otherwise i was thinking the other way is to have a switch along the power line between the battery and the invertor?
what i was thinking of if possible was have the power run through the firewall behind the dash to a switch and then continue the power line from the switch and beind the kick panel along the side of the car to the boot?

if i want to do it that way is there different types of switches?
or is it best just to relocate the existing switch?
i am doing soming similar and using a 240v 10amp house hold circuit breaker as switch,will handle power and its-----off or on and can take any size cables,and cheap for what it does. :wink: :wink:

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 552

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Ride: XR Fairmont

Location: Western Suburbs
VIC, Australia

Yeah i think i got one here coz we just built this house 3 years ago and we got stuff left over
ill have to look for one
thanks 4 that

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1679

Joined: 9th Jul 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BA XR6 TURBO

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

no problems man good luck
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:31 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

You're best bet is to relocate the existing switch.

If you want to cut the power line, you'll need a switch that'll handle the full rated current of the power cable you're using.

~70A for 8GA
~120A for 4GA

These switches are normally very large and ugly. The existing switch is most likely small. You could even ADD a switch to the inverter, so you can have it powered on or off from either end of the car.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 1:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 552

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Ride: XR Fairmont

Location: Western Suburbs
VIC, Australia

Even if want the switch inside the console i suppose i can just run the wires under the carpet along the hump into the console

A lot easier than running it all the way to the dash
That way its outa the way

ill see how i go
thanks 4 the input

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 512

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Falcon Classic

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I would add a switch in series to the existing one which is already on the inverter.

Or, depending where the inverter is, just put a switch in line with the cables leading to it. i.e if its in the boot and you have cables running down the car, just tap into them under the dash, none of the crap u get when running 4 wires when u only need 2.

 

_________________

When you do things right, people won't be sure you've done anything at all.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 9:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2351

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: Blown XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I have got myself one of the Rear Window Washer switches from a wreckers (meant for a Wagon, of course). and the surround for the dash.

Have thaty switching a relay in the engine bay, for the power to my invertor. Looks neat, with no fugly missile switches mounted anywhere.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:31 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names