Fordmods Logo

Putting clock into an AU1 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Putting clock into an AU1
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 7:07 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 189

Joined: 12th Mar 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUI XL Falcon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

hey guys. i own a AU1 XL and they dont seem to come with clocks, they just have a piece of plastic saying "falcon" covering the holes haha. i got a au xr6 write off and pulled the whole dash out and going to put it into mine but im not sure what the go is with the clock? do i have to take it to an auto electrician or is it not achievable?

 

_________________

MA77US' AU Ute Build.
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Putting clock into an AU1
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:25 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

from my hazy memory the clock just plugs into the wiring loom, and gets it power that way,

u will need the new dash facia though from the donor car as the clock is attached to the facia

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Putting clock into an AU1
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 7:57 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 189

Joined: 12th Mar 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUI XL Falcon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

Disco Frank wrote:
from my hazy memory the clock just plugs into the wiring loom, and gets it power that way,

u will need the new dash facia though from the donor car as the clock is attached to the facia


cheers. ive got the facia and clock already to go. im thinking about a full dash conversion now though. going to be a bit difficult but i can only try. seems as if everythings connected by clips.

Ash wrote:
I tried to put a clock in my AU1 Falcon some years back and the plug for it was not in the loom. This may not necessarily be the case for yours knowing Ford there is no real consistency.

Remove the dash centre though and have a good look around. You need to remove the stereo, there are two screws behind it and two behind the ash tray. It should just pop out from here.


thanks ash. ive actually been looking at your build thread with keen eyes. im basicly doing what you did but with a dodgier xl haha. just wondering if you put the xr speedo cluster in the xls? i went to do mine and then found out i have to change pins around all this stuff. you know anything about it?

matt

 

_________________

MA77US' AU Ute Build.
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Putting clock into an AU1
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:22 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 189

Joined: 12th Mar 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUI XL Falcon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

Ash wrote:
No worries Matt :wink:

No I never did get it in. I didn't find the info I was after then I decided to just swap over the dash looms as I wrecked an XR6 so I had the bits. But sold the car before I got to it.

I can help you out with the clock plug if yours isn't there and you want to splice one in. I can even help you with a whole AU1 XR6 dash loom. PM me if you have no luck with what you have.


ahhk. me and a mate had a look through the technical documents and theres a page in there saying how to do it but i am absolutely hopeless when it comes to electrics haha :?

cheers ash :D ive been wrecking an xr6 of my own! found a write off for only $150 and the engine and interior was all undamaged! so ive been working hard lately. got the seats, door trims, center console, gear stick and floor carpet in so far. so much fun. engine is going to be the biggest job though. doing a whole transmission and engine swap! i saw you did it to so you could probably help me with that to haha :)

but in relation to the clock thing. ive taken out the whole dash off the xr6 and its waiting in my garage to go in my xl but im hesitant in doing it cause of the electrics :shock: did you have any troubles with it?

 

_________________

MA77US' AU Ute Build.
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Putting clock into an AU1
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:56 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 189

Joined: 12th Mar 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUI XL Falcon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

series 1 sedan with 160k on the engine

 

_________________

MA77US' AU Ute Build.
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Putting clock into an AU1
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:45 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 189

Joined: 12th Mar 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUI XL Falcon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

02/99 :? :? :? :? is this a bad thing? are there many differences?

 

_________________

MA77US' AU Ute Build.
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Putting clock into an AU1
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:58 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 189

Joined: 12th Mar 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUI XL Falcon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

ohk, well it all seems to be do-able! i was considering putting in the ABS but looked like alot of work. is it quiet hard?

whats the BEM and the loom? im only a beginner ford mod'er haha :?

 

_________________

MA77US' AU Ute Build.
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Putting clock into an AU1
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:15 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 189

Joined: 12th Mar 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUI XL Falcon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

ohk, cool cool.

hmm well i might put it on then! i have the opportunity too so may as well

yeah ive been taking pictures of where all the plugs go... and for a build thread haha

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh that makes alot of sense! i saw that when i put in the floor carpet! sweet, i was wondering what that was.

so i should put the dash, ECU, BEM and engine in at the same time. along with putting the ABS on, putting in the clock loom and coolant loom. this is good. im getting a handle on everything that needs to be done :D thank you!

with the looms, am i going to be getting the ones of the XR6 and wiring them onto the XL? because thats the kind of stuff i will struggle with

 

_________________

MA77US' AU Ute Build.
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Putting clock into an AU1
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:36 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 189

Joined: 12th Mar 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUI XL Falcon

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

is taking out and swapping the looms hard? theres probably a thread on here showing me how to do it! but that sounds not to hard. hopefully it all goes well but ill send a PM if i get stuck :D cheers again Ash! biggggg help :mrgreen:

 

_________________

MA77US' AU Ute Build.
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Putting clock into an AU1
Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 11:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 1006

Joined: 1st Oct 2010

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: EF XR8

Location: Richmond,
NSW, Australia

This seems to be heaps of really hard work at first, but once it's done it'll become pretty simple to do again,,

Glad that we've got FordMods to help out, aye Matt.

 

_________________

Blue blooded.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:36 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names