Fordmods Logo

S-Pak tacho wrong reading... 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: S-Pak tacho wrong reading...
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 11:30 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 18

Joined: 22nd Oct 2010

Location: bris
QLD, Australia

Hi - I just swapped from an e-series standard cluster to an s-pak/xr cluster. Changed what needed to, everything works spot on except the tacho which reads somewhere around 1000rpm less than what it should.

When i picked up the dash (i do know it was working correctly in the car it came out of) it was without the front clear plastic on it, and noticed that when the car is turned off the tacho sits unusually low so was wondering if i or someone else could have moved the needle some how? If so is it possible to reset it to the correct place or if not any suggestions which could be causing the problem?

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: S-Pak tacho wrong reading...
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 11:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1322

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 40 images

Ride: EF GLi/Ghia bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

do you have a V8 tacho in a 6? or a 6 cyl tacho in a V8?

Gab
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: S-Pak tacho wrong reading...
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 11:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

if it didnt have the front clear cover on it chances are if you have bumped it maybe its fallen out of place

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: S-Pak tacho wrong reading...
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 12:02 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

i would say the needle has been bumped and has moved..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: S-Pak tacho wrong reading...
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 7:07 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 18

Joined: 22nd Oct 2010

Location: bris
QLD, Australia

OK no problems, it was an xr6 tacho - the engine & cluster went into my car so its the right one. If its been bumped, what is the correct position with the ignition off? Right on the 0rpm line?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: S-Pak tacho wrong reading...
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 7:14 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

this is where mine sits..

 

 

Attachments:
DSC01840.JPG
DSC01840.JPG [ 321.76 KiB | Viewed 55 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:16 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names