Fordmods Logo

setting date and time on EF trip computer 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: setting date and time on EF trip computer
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:36 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Just installed a trip computer into my GLi :D

I only needed to add one wire between the trip computer and the cluster and two wires between the trip computer and the demistor switch.
Haven't gone for a drive yet but it seems to move through all the options which i can also reset.

All except the time that is :( it shows 12:00 and i can't find any info on how to set the date and time. Played with the three buttons, o/speed, reset & search and managed to set the date but not he time and now can't get back into the date setting mode :?

Anyone have info for setting the date and time on a trip computer :oops:

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 2:03 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Paul, try this:

Press and hold down SEARCH, press RESET - release both buttons at the same time.
HOURS should flash, toggle through by pressing SEARCH, press RESET to adjust.
When finished, press SEARCH again.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 2:05 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks snap will try this in the morning.

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 2:12 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

No probs Paul.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 2:19 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Thats the way to do it.

Let us know if the year falshes 1990 or soemthing differnet? Two times ago my didnt it started at 800 and I couldnt get the date right. Reset it the other day and now it works normally. Just curious.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: setting date and time on EF trip computer
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 2:50 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ItchiOne wrote:
...Played with the three buttons, o/speed, reset & search and managed to set the date but not he time and now can't get back into the date setting mode...


When i was setting the date, it started from 1990 and i moved quickly to 05 :)

Tomorrow, hen i try the procedure snap posted, i will first removed the unit, wait a while, then reconnect and change the date again.
Let you know what it starts at.

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: setting date and time on EF trip computer
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 3:39 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

ItchiOne wrote:
When i was setting the date, it started from 1990 and i moved quickly to 05.
Pressing RESET and SEARCH together should return the year back to 1990 . . . :idea:

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: setting date and time on EF trip computer
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 3:56 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ItchiOne wrote:
ItchiOne wrote:
...Played with the three buttons, o/speed, reset & search and managed to set the date but not he time and now can't get back into the date setting mode...


When i was setting the date, it started from 1990 and i moved quickly to 05 :)

Tomorrow, hen i try the procedure snap posted, i will first removed the unit, wait a while, then reconnect and change the date again.
Let you know what it starts at.

Cheers.


yeah i dont know why mione did
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 11:33 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Installed the trip computer and all seems to be working fine.
When setting the date, it started in the '90's.

My only question is that the standard blue data wire from cluster is shielded but i haven't earthed the shield as yet.

Do people generally earth the shield when doing this mod or is that nothing to worries about ?

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 2:20 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ItchiOne wrote:
Installed the trip computer and all seems to be working fine.
When setting the date, it started in the '90's.

My only question is that the standard blue data wire from cluster is shielded but i haven't earthed the shield as yet.

Do people generally earth the shield when doing this mod or is that nothing to worries about ?

Cheers.


I just jammed the wire in there. Others used superglue or soemthing if that helps.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 12:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

Thats a slack way to do it pm me if you want a propper pin to solder to the wire that goes to the cluster :D

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 1:24 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The data wire from the cluster is a shielded wire. I got this wire out of a stuffed fairmont loom and both sides still had the pins as did the earth lead.

So the is the earth needed ?

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 12:37 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ItchiOne wrote:
The data wire from the cluster is a shielded wire. I got this wire out of a stuffed fairmont loom and both sides still had the pins as did the earth lead.

So the is the earth needed ?

Cheers


For the trip computer?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 10:37 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

twirqurky wrote:
ItchiOne wrote:
The data wire from the cluster is a shielded wire. I got this wire out of a stuffed fairmont loom and both sides still had the pins as did the earth lead.

So the is the earth needed ?

Cheers


For the trip computer?

Yes the blue data wire going from cluster to the trip computer is shielded.
I removed it from the stuffed fairmont loom and placed into the same plugs and pin positions (within these plugs) on my GLi loom :D
Nothing about this shielding has been mentioned in the trip computer mod doc so i was wondering if people have experianced any issues with not having it shielded.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re trip
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 11:25 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 15

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Just did the same mod last week. All you need is the original clock plug (already wired) and the three wires as per doco. I picked mine up off the demister. Stripped back a bit of wire and soldered the new ones on. No need for earthing.
And the data wire I ran from the right hand side cluster plug. Not shielded
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:35 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names