Fordmods Logo

Shift light tacho needle cluster mod 

 

Page 5 of 6 [ 87 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

 
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 4:51 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I integrated a shift light into the dash, but did it a little different. I used an untra bright led and Jaycar frequency switch and mounted it withing the dash. Here are a few pics of the install.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Very nicely integrated in.

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:04 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

bright enough?

Spose from there, you just move the LED to right behind the needle (little hot glue would do the job), and watch the needle light up at shift time.

I've just won a mid series cluster, so my low series will be available for tinkering.
/me rubs hands together and laughs in an evil fashion.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 873

Joined: 9th May 2005

Ride: BA XR6T

stockstandard wrote:
I integrated a shift light into the dash, but did it a little different. I used an untra bright led and Jaycar frequency switch and mounted it withing the dash. Here are a few pics of the install.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


just out of interest, as i cant tell from the photo, how do u set the RPM at which it lights up??

 

_________________

300+rwkw HeadsexTuned XR6 Turbo Ute *NOW SOLD :(*
MK Triton with 31" muddies, 2" lift and 3" turbo back exhaust etc...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

how much was the switch?

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 10:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

this is what i did to my jackaroo. the switch is available as a kit for around $30. and you set the rpm at which it switches by adjusting a 'pot' on the board. you can also use it to switch on as the revs drop to a certain point but thats not very useful for this.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2005 12:13 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Got a mid-series cluster now (http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14878), so I've got a spare cluster for 'working' on.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:22 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 377

Joined: 22nd May 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: NF Fairlane V8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

data_mine wrote:
Got a mid-series cluster now (http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14878), so I've got a spare cluster for 'working' on.


I'd be most interested in the cluster to play with :D I'll cover postage.

I've got the pic chip on a breadboard at the moment reading a signal and switching leds but I'm loath to pull out my high end cluster to start prototyping and testing on :oops: So pm me to see what we can organize.

On another topic is the colours and change points ???

I was thinking for the tacho (for me anyway) blue up to 2.5k green to 3.5k yellow to 4.5k and red to 5.5k with the led's flashing over 5.5k (all these points being changeable via the software).
For the speedo I was thinking blue to 50k flash blue to 60k, 60-80k green, 80-100k yellow, 100k goes red and I was thinking at 120k it flashes red???

So that's my stage of thinking at the moment so any extra thoughts or ideas on this project are welcomed.. :D :D

 

_________________

The TORQUE Monster project begins!

Pic's, details and all the yummy stuff:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=22693

"There's no replacement for displacement!"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:58 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Flashing speedo, probaly not a good idea - at least the 50-60 range.

And I'd just want the speedo to go red, when teh speedo alarm is reached. Should be possible as the smarts in the cluster not the TC.

Same for tacho, except user selectable (hidden pot) rev warning. Maybe a shift light too.

My plans is just:

Speedo = nothing til TC speed alarm goes red. Green when cruise control is active (keeping pseed - not just on)
Tacho = nothing, til user set shift light then green, then red at user set rev limit alarm.

Just dumb warning for the other guages.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 12:31 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 377

Joined: 22nd May 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: NF Fairlane V8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

data_mine wrote:
Flashing speedo, probaly not a good idea - at least the 50-60 range.

And I'd just want the speedo to go red, when teh speedo alarm is reached. Should be possible as the smarts in the cluster not the TC.

Same for tacho, except user selectable (hidden pot) rev warning. Maybe a shift light too.

My plans is just:

Speedo = nothing til TC speed alarm goes red. Green when cruise control is active (keeping pseed - not just on)
Tacho = nothing, til user set shift light then green, then red at user set rev limit alarm.

Just dumb warning for the other guages.


Hmmm I like. :D I have spare Input pins on the pic so being able to set the change points shouldn't be a prob.
I've also been looking into the 'cruise actually ON' indicator but its all controlled inside the cruise solenoid, There are two spare pins on the solenoid plug which may do something when the unit is actually running??? Another thing to test out.
Other than that its hack inside the solenoid and find a point that goes active when its operating, or program a chip to read all the inputs the solenoid recieves. :roll:

And the TC does control the O/S alarm along with the low fuel warning, its all fed up the data signal the EEC sends out to the dash and trip. You could tap into the piezo signal in the trip but it would go off on low fuel warning as well??? Otherwise another switch to set the O/S on the dash. :idea:

 

_________________

The TORQUE Monster project begins!

Pic's, details and all the yummy stuff:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=22693

"There's no replacement for displacement!"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 10:48 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

NFGhia wrote:
And the TC does control the O/S alarm along with the low fuel warning, its all fed up the data signal the EEC sends out to the dash and trip. You could tap into the piezo signal in the trip but it would go off on low fuel warning as well??? Otherwise another switch to set the O/S on the dash. :idea:


but the signal to set off the peizo must come back through the data line too. Again if someone can decode that, maybe the alarm signal is different, or there may be a way to read the TC (get the speed alert setting)

Maybe some low speed testing with the rear end jacked up on stands is the way to go. Remembering cruise won't engage under ~40KM/H.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

NFGhia wrote:
data_mine wrote:
Got a mid-series cluster now (http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14878), so I've got a spare cluster for 'working' on.




For the speedo I was thinking blue to 50k flash blue to 60k, 60-80k green, 80-100k yellow, 100k goes red and I was thinking at 120k it flashes red???



I wouldent have the speedo flash between 50-60 cos you will probably spend a lot of time at that speed and it will be annoying. Also maybe have the speedo flash blue and red above 120?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2005 3:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

I was thinking of that the other day, instead of having a chunky monster tacho that could be pinched and hocked for petrol, or something for police to pick on, fit a shift light into your instrument cluster. Down the bottom of the tacho, near the red sector. Even a small LED that could light when you reached red line would look good, but has to blend in so it's not a botchy rice job.

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:53 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Found some info saying the there's a data line going from the cruise unit to the ECU, and it carries a PWM signal, that indicates what mode the cruise module is on, OFF/CRUISING/SET (ie. on)

with a 33%/50%/66% duty cycle.

Don't know what wire it is yet.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 3:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 866

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: XD 351, FG Ute

Location: Darwin
NT, Australia

auto meter already has guages that do this they are called nexus and they rock but you are looking at $300+ for the guage and then you need the controll box for the guages which is $400

 

_________________

WINNER:
Best modified car 1980 - 1989 Shannons show and shine 2006
Best XD-XH Darwin All Ford Day 2011

There is no substitute for cubic inches :twisted:

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 5 of 6  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:10 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names