Fordmods Logo

sound system upgrade for AU any ideas. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: sound system upgrade for AU any ideas.
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 1:00 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 165

Joined: 2nd Feb 2007

Ride: Ford AU series 2 Wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

so far i bought brand new speakers for the front doors, so far realy good improvement from factory speakers.
my wagon has rear speakers too, i think tere 6 inch...
but i want to use my 6by9's how can i install them so they look as if they were there but u can't see them like covered behind the origional plastics.

after i get around this hurdle i want to add an amplifier ...
But i don't know if the stock head unit has RCA outputs on it does anyone know if it does (AU model) .

then i'll eventually Re-wire all the speakers through the AmP.
to improve the sound even more louder...

With the head unit are there models which cover in the hole in the DASH, cause if i take the stock head unit out im left with a huge gaping hole..
are there plastic casings which clip in to fill the left over space...

cause if i get pulled over and a copper looks at my dash he's going to think somone done a dodgy job on my car...

 

_________________

wagoff

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: speakers
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 1:02 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 165

Joined: 2nd Feb 2007

Ride: Ford AU series 2 Wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

i have used Cadence in front does that mean i should use Cadence in the rear, cause i was going to slap in a pair of pioneer 6by9's...
it shouldn't really matter though as long as it sounds good...

 

_________________

wagoff

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:12 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 130

Joined: 21st Nov 2005

Ride: fairmont ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

hey, i have a fairmont ghia, they come with a factory amp in the boot, behind the CD stacker, it has RCA's, so u can just unplug it and bang a better amp in!

but im pretty sure only the fairmonts have it,

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:13 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 130

Joined: 21st Nov 2005

Ride: fairmont ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

oh, i forgot to mension, it only has 2 rca's, not 4 so i would assume it can only run a sub and the rear speakers, not the fronts.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3343

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Go to ford and ask for the pocket that goes in under the AU1 forte head unit. Its about $20 and will enable you to use single DIN headunits.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

The premium sound system can be installed into a double DIN pocket, I have completed one on a mate's AU Futura.

 

 

Attachments:
bali3010.jpg
bali3010.jpg [ 117.1 KiB | Viewed 30 times ]

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: whats the difference between premium/basic sound system
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:30 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 165

Joined: 2nd Feb 2007

Ride: Ford AU series 2 Wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

whats the difference between premium sound system and /basic sound system ???
is the wiring different to the speakers???

 

_________________

wagoff

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

Wiring for front speakers are the same and everything else.

Rear speakers run off the amplifier in the RH side of the boot.

With the premium sound system into the Futura model, you lose the power antenna function.

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

6 disc stacker is mounted here in the boot.

 

 

Attachments:
bali3009.jpg
bali3009.jpg [ 87.14 KiB | Viewed 21 times ]

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speakers
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 704

Joined: 19th May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 2003 BA XT

Power: 141 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

cilkorules wrote:
i have used Cadence in front does that mean i should use Cadence in the rear, cause i was going to slap in a pair of pioneer 6by9's...
it shouldn't really matter though as long as it sounds good...


No, While cadence and pioneer and both near the bottomish end of the scale in quality, whatever sounds good to you is all that matters, you do NOT need to have all one brand of speakers but subs should be all one type ie. not a pioneer and a alpine together.

Quality of the audio will also increase with an amplifier added.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 1:36 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 339

Joined: 19th Jul 2006

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Also, 6x9's will NOT fit flush in the parcel shelf, the holes are for 5x7" speakers.


In saying that, I have 7x10's in my parcel shelf, and they don't sound distorted, I've bolted them up from underneath, so from the outside it all looks stock.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:00 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names