Fordmods Logo

stuffed my guage cluster!!! urgently need help! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: stuffed my guage cluster!!! urgently need help!
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 2:25 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 246

Joined: 6th Jun 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA svo turbo, ef Fairmontl

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

i was trying to sway my clusters and i have somehow broken my std fairont one! none of the guages work anymore!!! i can still use the digital(what i am using for my tacho and speedo lol) but no gauges! tacho works kinda but not properly! it jolts up and down and says im idling at 1700rpm!!! any help or ideas?

 

_________________

R.I.P George.D.Gogas!!!
4.5.85 - 27.2.05

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 2:25 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 246

Joined: 6th Jun 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA svo turbo, ef Fairmontl

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

p.s- it is an ef fairmont ghia!

 

_________________

R.I.P George.D.Gogas!!!
4.5.85 - 27.2.05

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 2:42 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 359

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EBII T5

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

sounds like a plug isnt connected properly, or has come loose inside? if its more than one guage doing this, then thats what it seems to be

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 2:46 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 246

Joined: 6th Jun 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA svo turbo, ef Fairmontl

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

both plugs at the bottom are correctly connected my mate apparently when he took it aprt had a play with some round metal things which the needles connect onto!

 

_________________

R.I.P George.D.Gogas!!!
4.5.85 - 27.2.05

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 3:37 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

needles might be in too far
Use a fork to pry them back

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 3:46 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

He's either reset the needles improperly (put them on the motors in the wrong position), or pushed them on too far, and they're sticking.

Need to pull the cluster apart again, and lift the needles a bit, to make sure they don't stick on the dial face.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 5:01 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 246

Joined: 6th Jun 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA svo turbo, ef Fairmontl

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

thanks guys! i will try this if not the motors may be stuffed!

 

_________________

R.I.P George.D.Gogas!!!
4.5.85 - 27.2.05

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:39 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names