Fordmods Logo

Tacho Dash 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Tacho Dash
Posted: Mon May 31, 2010 8:18 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 1

Joined: 31st May 2010

Ride: Ford Falcon EL Gli

Location: Lowood
QLD, Australia

Im hoping to get some insight on how to fit a FORD EL FAIRMONT EF FALCON XR6 TICKFORD tacho dash into a Ford Falcon EL Gli, would it slip straight in or will i need other componants?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tacho Dash
Posted: Mon May 31, 2010 8:24 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

is it the high series one (fairmont)? that is it has three plugs in the bottom and 1 in the back?

If so you wont have the plugs (GLi has two plugs) you'll need to cut off your and solder on the new ones, or make a patch harness adaptor, or something of that nature...

or is it a XR6 one? these will fit straight in...

Please read the tech docs section:

High Series Cluster Install

EF/EL Cluster Information

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tacho Dash
Posted: Mon May 31, 2010 8:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 422

Joined: 10th Jul 2009

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Black EB 5 Speed EL Front End

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

timmytimtim wrote:
is it the high series one (fairmont)? that is it has three plugs in the bottom and 1 in the back?

If so you wont have the plugs (GLi has two plugs) you'll need to cut off your and solder on the new ones, or make a patch harness adaptor, or something of that nature...

or is it a XR6 one? these will fit straight in...

Please read the tech docs section:

High Series Cluster Install

EF/EL Cluster Information

Cheers,
Tim

the fairmont ones had 2 plugs like gli and xr, it was the fairmont ghia that was different

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tacho Dash
Posted: Mon May 31, 2010 8:35 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

oh my bad... wasn't sure where that high series one started...

so fairmont ghias, lanes, and ltds would've had the high series one?

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tacho Dash
Posted: Mon May 31, 2010 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 613

Joined: 13th Mar 2010

Ride: EF Falcon Monti

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

i have a fairmont ghia cluster and its what they use in the standard fairmont Because you have:

Low Series: GLi, Futura
Mid Series: XR, Fairmont Ghia
High Series: Fairlane Ghia/LTD

Low and mid series are interchangable but if going from low series to mid series, no additional wiring needed, all that has to be done is 1 resistor soldered into the back of the circuit board

if you are doing the Low or Mid series cluster upgrade to the High Series cluster, you need to do the extra wiring

 

_________________

BANNED USER

Last edited by tony.martin11 on Mon May 31, 2010 8:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tacho Dash
Posted: Mon May 31, 2010 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 422

Joined: 10th Jul 2009

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Black EB 5 Speed EL Front End

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

yeah, im pretty sure. i'v got one here out of a fairmont and it only has two plugs

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tacho Dash
Posted: Mon May 31, 2010 8:40 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

sounds good to me...

yeah he said its both a fairmont one and an XR6 one so it threw me as to axactly what it was... But if they are both the same then... easy straight swap over...

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Tacho Dash
Posted: Mon May 31, 2010 8:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 613

Joined: 13th Mar 2010

Ride: EF Falcon Monti

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

Well i thought i'ld just try to clear it up for you

 

_________________

BANNED USER

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:04 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names