Fordmods Logo

Trip computer into EAII 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Trip computer into EAII
Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 7:45 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 24

Joined: 30th Dec 2004

Ride: EA 5spd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Hi all, i have just installed a trip computer from EA fairmont into my EA gl, I have left one wire out, (ran out of daylight...) This wire is the one that goes to the injectors, the "Fuel Injection PWM Output on EECIV" green/yellow

What the question is, when i put ignition on the "range" starts beeping at me saying i have zero litres left, or kms.

I have retraced and double checked the fuel sender that goes to my dash, and thats working good, would it have anything to do with this PWN wire not connected? cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

Yes - beacuse if there is no wire, then how can the trip computer read how much fuel is left in your tank to estimate a range until you almost run out of fuel?

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:42 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 24

Joined: 30th Dec 2004

Ride: EA 5spd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

But the wire is conected to the fuel sender on the dash cluster? or does it have to be off the PWM output aswell?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ???
Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 8:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

The pwm wire feeds the injector pulse width to the trip comp so it can work out how much fuel u are using and from that your fuel usage and kms to empty etc.
Comp is behind the passenger kick panel pigyback your wire to the relavent wire and insulate joint be careful not to pull to much on the wires into the EEC

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 9:46 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 24

Joined: 30th Dec 2004

Ride: EA 5spd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Do you think that i would have to take car for a drive to "refresh"? cause thats all hooked up now and still not working on range.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ?????
Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 9:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

From memory u dont need to go for a drive. U are sure that the wire from the fuel sender is connected correctly/ u have picked it up from the correct place and not another signal by mistake.
Check all yr wiring and places of pickup for the relevant signals. I will go and get my book from when I did mine and see if I can find any other problem areas.

I take it u know that the unit is not faulty??????

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ???
Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Have you read the tech doc on this site under ea/ed trip comp????

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: ???
Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

AlsoPWM sig pin 34 Gn/Y on EEC
Fuel sig pin 2 on instrument panel 16 pin plug

Speedo sig pin 16 on instrument panel 16 pin plug

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:06 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 24

Joined: 30th Dec 2004

Ride: EA 5spd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Yup, the wires are all correct, cant be 100% on trip computer working, but i'm sure last time i ran my fairmont it told me i only had bout 48kms left in the tank, i got the fuel sender on the correct one, even checked it with my ford manual, any help please. Thanx alot :-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 10:00 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 24

Joined: 30th Dec 2004

Ride: EA 5spd

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Its all working now, but one other question, should this dim with the headlights turned on? i no the ED Fairmont ones do but this is an early EA (89) so should it dimm or stay constant?

It beeps at me when the lights are left on, but nothing else. Thanx for help off everyone.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:27 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names