Fordmods Logo

Callng Sherlock Holmes 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Callng Sherlock Holmes
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:27 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 213

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon RTV

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

Got a question, my sons EF Tickford LPG had a big bang the other week.Now that side is being looked after, but since then when the car is started for the first time (Petrol) each day.It runs on 5 cylinders for a short while and is ok for the rest of the day.What could the LPG backfire have damaged. plugs injector?????
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:50 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

mmmm
the backfire usally pops the airbox lid off
or soemthing breaks on the inlet side

never heard of it causing a miss before

now u state that on petrol start it is missing
is this only the first time in the morning?
or even when manually siwtched to petrol?

if the miss is on petrol only then look at that side
ie injectors as the gas runs fine cant be plugs or timing

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 8:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

I had some back fires which blew the inlet gasket at number six. Took ages to find as it was a very small leak. Caused a miss on idle - 1000rpm but fine above that.

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Several things may be in play here.
First, if you have poor spark or lean mixture then it will backfire.
If it backfires then it can and often does break the intake tubing, with the tickford system where the balance tube between the convertor and the snorkle is critical to proper operation you will need to repair any intake breakage and it sounds like your on the case.

Back to the backfire problem it could be in order of likelyhood:
Leads, Plugs, Coilpack, Stepper motor (lean mixture) or head gasket leak causing fouled plug(s).

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 10:59 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 213

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon RTV

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

The gas is not being used as I am getting my hands on a airbox to replace the damaged one (cracks mainly).The dropping one cylinder is on petrol only.I have had a look at the plugs and no 1 stands out from the rest being a little blacker and sooty then the rest.It just stands out so have replaced it to see what ever.A backfire would not have damaged the pintle on a injector which might cause a steam of fuel rather then a spray which fouls a plug?????? This problem has only happened since the lpg backfire.LPG is not being used at the moment.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

You will need to get it running well on all 6 before the backfire issue is behind you. I would very much doubt a backfire would cause any issue with the injectors. Check/ Replace/ Swap lead and plugs to eliminate that. You also need to be sure you don't have a leaking Headgasket, are you loosing coolant and or getting white smoke from the exhaust.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:51 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 213

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon RTV

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

Using a small amount of coolant, but it was doing this before the backfire.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Do you know where the coolant is going?

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:10 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 213

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon RTV

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

Not at this stage, there was a pressure test done and all seem right.Hoping to find that the convertor was using coolant but will not know till we get it back to the LPG mech.The running on 5 cylinder only first up in the morning started after the backfire last week etc.,It runs fine after 20 or 30 seconds and ok for rest of the day. Running the car on fuel only. Will keep at it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:29 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 156

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: AU Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Backfires can make the map sensor s**t itself too so worth checking that too.

 

_________________

98 AU Falcon Futura I6 ABS & Cruise stock (The Wifes car

99 AU Falcon Duel Fuel - Xcab

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:20 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 213

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon RTV

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

Got the sons car back yesterday to do some work on it.Got some recon injectors.Went to start it and quickly see which cylinder was not working on start up.You would not believe it, started all ok (bugger).He had run full tank of E10 thru it during the week so this may had cleared something??? Changed the injectors anyway, but what I did do was to remove the bolt at the bottom of the convertor to see what might be in there.Removed the bolt and had a 2-3 sec flow of coolant, so would be safe to say that the convertor is stuffed!!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 11:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Not nessesarily, retighten the bolts around the edge and see if it seals up, what will happen is the stepper motor will seize with rust in a short while.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 12:47 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 213

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon RTV

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

Put isn't the coolant passage a sealed item like a metal channel that runs thru the body of the converter??? I would be thinking that the channel now has a small hole.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 1:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

No, they are open on one side (for ease of making I guess) and sealed with a rubber diaphram.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 2:04 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 213

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon RTV

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

Ok, thanks for all that.I still think there is a problem which will need it to be pulled apart and rekitted??The car was pressure tested and power flushed a few months ago which may had something to do with it, but can not remember if it was using some water before??.Now if its to be rekitted then the kits are about the $150-$200 mark??? (part) or do I fit a newer and better converter (Airod) for about $300 (part).
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:00 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names