Fordmods Logo

Cost of EF Tickford Gas ECU 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Cost of EF Tickford Gas ECU
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:34 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 31

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I posted last week about problems with the wife's EF with the Tickford gas. The gas place has now done all the tests and says that the ECU is the fault. One of the five relays in there just won't latch , exactly what I said to them when I put it in, and says that another one from the company that made them will cost $700! Does anyone know where they can get repaired, or alternatively, know where you can get good second hand ones that work? Help please, I need to get one in the next few days..

Rod
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:58 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Go to a wreckers!
Almost all EF taxi's have the Tickford Gas ECU and I wouldn't be paying more than $80 for one.

Do you have the 2 ecu type? as in is there a seperate ecu under the dash as well as the LHS kick panel?

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: cost of ECU for EF
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:03 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 31

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yes, it's the ECU that's just up from the lh kickpanel in the drivers foot well. Any idea which wreckers would have one? I live in eltham. Is that price you said a recent one, because if it is I'll be one happy little chappy, as long as their not too hard to install !!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:29 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 57

Posts: 213

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon RTV

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

Here's one, i had thought you had a donar car?? http://cgi.ebay.com.au/FORD-TICKFORD-EL ... dZViewItem
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

That is an EL one. It wont work in an EF. I got mine for $50 on here. They can be very hard to find now as everyone has gone to the wreckers to get the full kit for a cheap conversion.

For now you can just run a standard ECU if you can't find an LPG one. You will lose some economy as the timing wont be right for LPG. You may need to set up a switch to turn off the injectors as the LPG ECU does this automatically.

Time to get out the yellow pages and let your fingers do the walking...

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re cost and availability
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:29 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 31

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

thanks for that info. You got yours for $50, was that on Ebay or through this forum?
Rod
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

On here. Also check ford forums as well. You might get lucky. That price was before the rebate was available. Consequently prices have gone up.

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cost of EF Tickford Gas ECU
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

ratj wrote:
I posted last week about problems with the wife's EF with the Tickford gas. The gas place has now done all the tests and says that the ECU is the fault. One of the five relays in there just won't latch , exactly what I said to them when I put it in, and says that another one from the company that made them will cost $700! Does anyone know where they can get repaired, or alternatively, know where you can get good second hand ones that work? Help please, I need to get one in the next few days..

Rod
A company called EMS does repairs and changeovers, I dont have any contact detail or prices.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:01 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 84

Joined: 10th Jan 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Location: Bedfordale
WA, Australia

I've got an EL being converted to gas. Are you guys saying that leaving the standard ECU in is going to cause problems?

 

_________________

Tim
EL Futura
John 3:16

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 10:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

No, it will run fine. It is just that it can run better. The Ticky LPG ECU optimises shift points, both petrol and LPG to take into consideration the intake restrictions, etc and it also optimises spark maps.

I read the Power specs a while ago and there is a very noticable boost in peak kW when using the Ticky LPG ECU. Petrol is up 5-10kW as is LPG.

Worth the money if you can find one.

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:42 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 84

Joined: 10th Jan 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Location: Bedfordale
WA, Australia

As has already been said, they aren't that easy to get hold of...

 

_________________

Tim
EL Futura
John 3:16

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 624

Joined: 5th Jul 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Fairlane NC

Location: Melbourne. SE
VIC, Australia

if ur cars been converted to lpg will u have the standard ECU? or will it be a for lpg ecu? and is the Ticky ecu diff to the ford lpg ecu?

ben

 

_________________

NC Fairlane Ghia. AU engine. Pacemaker 4499. 2.5" Redback Zorst, tints, red dash. 17in ba xr (e-series). Suzuki Across (suzi) Sexy in Black

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Probably need some clarification here. An LPG vehicle with have the standard ECU in the ps footwell. Every efi falcon has one. When you convert to LPG they add a controller for the lpg mixture solenoid plus injector cut/petrol start. This normally sits under the driver seat or under the dash near the brake pedal. Some people call this an ECU as well.

The Tickford system has two parts. It has the mixture controller mounted next to the brake pedal, but they also replace the standard ECU in the ps footwell. This ECU then has different spark and shift point maps as well as the extra function of injector cut when in LPG mode. This is the ECU we are all talking about. You will need to hunt around to find one as they are becoming fairly rare.

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 624

Joined: 5th Jul 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Fairlane NC

Location: Melbourne. SE
VIC, Australia

so if i just change my stock NC ecu for an EB1 tickford gas one it will be sweet with my gas set up and give a mild improvement?

 

_________________

NC Fairlane Ghia. AU engine. Pacemaker 4499. 2.5" Redback Zorst, tints, red dash. 17in ba xr (e-series). Suzuki Across (suzi) Sexy in Black

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Short answer yes long answer no.

Do you run both petrol and LPG or just LPG.

If just LPG plug it in and forget about it as you are all set.

If duel fuel you will need to connect up a few wires as the ECU will be in LPG only mode unless 12V is applied to one of the pins (can't remember which one). If left in LPG only mode it wont run on petrol as the injectors will be cut from the ECU.

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:28 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names