Fordmods Logo

gas guage 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: gas guage
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:03 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 48

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Au series 3, 12/92 nc fairlane

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Hi I need a little help here, I have a 2001 au3 falcon sedan with gas but no way of telling how much gas is in the tank, unless I open the boot and stick my head in but that is a PITA as the tank is mounted so that the guage is nearly facing the parcel shelf the only wires running to the tank are for the cut off valve.

so what I need is a simple digram showing how to wire the sender to the lpg switch??if it needs to and into the petrol level sender as I don't want the led guage (and dont have one anyway) The car is an ex taxi and probably had it wired before but when it was decommisioned they did a motor swap for one with 170000ks so they played with all the wires I've only just sorted the gastec fp30 controller wireing.

any help much appreciated thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: gas guage
Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

The sender on the gas tank needs to have the same resistance as the petrol sender.
Then it's just a matter of a change over relay.

Personly I'd just fit an Apexus PG200 switch. They are small, neat and reliable.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: gas guage
Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:35 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 48

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Au series 3, 12/92 nc fairlane

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

the tank sender is 0-174ohm but my problem is no wires from the switch to the tank for the sender.

I was thinking of running a wire fromthe cutoff to a relay that would switch between the sender from petrol to the sender for gas kinda like this

Attachment:
gas2.bmp


Excuse the MsPaint

so going by this when the relay has no power it shows what the petrol sender sends as I would tap into the signal wire and have the side from the tank connected to nomily closed and the side from the cluster connected to the common pin.

When the relay is powered from powering the cutoff actuator then the signal from the gas tank sender would be sent to the cluster.

how would I tell what impedance the petrol sender has?
and would one of the gas sender wires go to ground?

Cheers

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: gas guage
Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:02 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 48

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Au series 3, 12/92 nc fairlane

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

slept on the problem last night.

And realised i would need a DPST relay as both wires from each sender need to go to the guage.

so here is a pic of what i have planned

Attachment:
gas2.bmp


Do i need to workout the guage impediance? or can i just go by the petrol sender impediance?

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: gas guage
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:24 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 48

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Au series 3, 12/92 nc fairlane

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

wired it up as per the second diagram and it seems to work well
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: gas guage
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 3:19 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 48

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Au series 3, 12/92 nc fairlane

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

ok discovered a problem when the relay switches it won update the fuel guage untill you turn the car off then on any ideas?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: gas guage
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

it's because the car is smart enough to know that large changes in level don't happen instantly.

What happen if you change it over and just keep driving the car for 10 mins?

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: gas guage
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 10:27 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 48

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Au series 3, 12/92 nc fairlane

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

i would try that but it needs a gas tune and new converter as it is weeping coolant from the rear seal i know with some factory setups the guage changes instantly would they have it switching after the ecu for that to happen?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:18 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names