NF V8 gas issues i need a hand with 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

Post subject: NF V8 gas issues i need a hand with
Posted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 5:36 pm 
Parts Gopher

Ride: 1996 NF ford fairlane v8

VIC, Australia

Hi guys!
I will start by saying im new to this fourm and I was impressed by the knowlage of its members.
I own an NF V8 Fairlane with 450,000k's on the clock that i got of my dad and have been diving for the last few years.
I only got it put in my name a month or so ago and i am having issues with the gas.
A bit of background info first would help. I have just spent around $3,500 getting the car up to scratch for RWC. On the gas system side of things i took the car to a gas place around the corner from me cos the gas wasnt running. They charged me $900 to change over the gas converter, changed plugs(they wer 2 months old and corect) and a tune. The tank needed to be re stamped so i took it out and had it done.
Lately the car has been having trouble when I turn the wheel or slightly touch the throttle. I was told by the mechanic that did my road worthy that it was most likely the stepper motor. Over the last few days this week I have compleatly pulled the throttle body down and gave it a good going over. Last night when I started it and took it for a test drive it was still having the same issue but the performance/smoothness was heaps better.
There is an exhaust leak in the left hand bank and the intake mani gasket is leaking.
I did give the car a quick tune by using the fourm guide and its idleing better. If I pick the rev's up and relese wether its hot or cold it will stop and hold at 1200 rpm before droping to 800rpm. I also disconected the stepper motor and started the car and it seemed to run fine if not better without it?
Im getting sick of working on the gas and i need to fix it before i go freakin mad!
Any help would be appriceated and i thank you for taking the time to check out the post. Pete AKA JAPCRP