Fordmods Logo

O2 sensors and gas.. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:44 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 30

Joined: 24th Mar 2010

Ride: EF fairmont ghia

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

was wondering if replacing my o2 sensor with change my fuel consumption whilst on gas.
is the gas computer in sync with the o2?
its on extractors too

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:19 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

no, not on a standard gas setup.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

It changed my gas consumption markedly mate.

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 6:52 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 30

Joined: 24th Mar 2010

Ride: EF fairmont ghia

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

how do i know if its had it?
ohm readings?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 1072

Joined: 6th Jul 2006

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: BA Falcon

Power: 106 rwkw

Location: Craigmore
SA, Australia

EFMONTY88 wrote:
was wondering if replacing my o2 sensor with change my fuel consumption whilst on gas.
is the gas computer in sync with the o2?
its on extractors too

cheers


Modern LPG systems that have a stepper motor to control LPG flow (ring mixer) get a signal from the O2 sensor... So yes replacing the O2 sensor at least every 80k-100k is a good idea to keep it working at its best..... I have had problems before when buying a car not running on LPG properly due to an O2 sensor but it ran fine on Petrol. Seems LPG is more critical to keep the tune right.

Whenever I buy a new (second hand car) I always change the O2 sensor as part of my first service....

 

_________________

2003 BA Falcon Egas Taxi Pack - XR Replica
Tpak MKII Build Thread

1984 ZL Fairlane
The Project

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 10:23 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 30

Joined: 24th Mar 2010

Ride: EF fairmont ghia

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

okay cool. yeh the extractors that came with my car seperate when i bought it had this o2 sensor in it already.
So wheres a good place to buy one, ebay?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 10:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 1072

Joined: 6th Jul 2006

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: BA Falcon

Power: 106 rwkw

Location: Craigmore
SA, Australia

Ebay or sprint auto parts....

 

_________________

2003 BA Falcon Egas Taxi Pack - XR Replica
Tpak MKII Build Thread

1984 ZL Fairlane
The Project

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

mine was $80 from bursons

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey guys sorry to spark up an old thread, thought its better than starting a new one.

Im changing my O2 Sensor to try and sort out a number of things, when looking down at my current setup, I have noticed that the O2 sensor in there already has extra wiring connected to it which goes to the gas setup, its a little black box, with gas module written on it.

When connecting it back up, I should obviously wire it back the same way ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

I expect so. what car? what brand gas system?

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

That should be wired into the vehicle harness not the sensor harness.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

sorry its a EF. Well the car is just running rough all round. Got the mechanic to check all obvious stuff, eg. leads, plugs, vacum leaks all that sort of stuff but on petrol it doesnt really respond and idles rough.


I got a EL engine put into my EF a little while back, so the guy may have stuffed up some of the wiring actually....

Is there an easy way to re wire it with some explanation online? Or should I take it to a gas place?

The only thing is I dont want to get charged a lot just to get something re wired which I can do.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: O2 sensors and gas..
Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

Ok so the ignition systems of EF and EL are different. The EF uses a cam angle sensor and coil pack to fire the plugs in 3 pairs. The EL went back to a distributor system that can also be prone to problems like worn shafts and seizure. So long as all the engine loom and required sensors were swapped it should work ok been done many time before. You would have been better off with an AU engine so people say but that requires sump and crossmember alterations. I know whenever I had a vacuum leap or hose popped off the map sensor then we were in trouble running like POS.

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:25 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names