Fordmods Logo

air fuel ratio gauge question 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: air fuel ratio gauge question
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:08 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 69

Joined: 3rd Dec 2005

Ride: 07 xr5 mondeo

Location: caringbah
NSW, Australia

small question regarding the installation of a air fuel ratio gauge in a EBII S XR6. has anyone connected one up? if so which wire do i splice into on the oxy sensor as there is 2 white wires and 1 black wire?
can anyone help me out with which wire is the correct wire to use?

 

_________________

If it moves, weld it down!
It if doesn't move and should, get a bigger hammer!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 3:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 868

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: eb falcon

Location: kadina
SA, Australia

i wouldnt waste my time hooking one up to a std o2 sensor, you need a full wideband a/f ratio meter to use it properly... a std sensor basically has a on/off output, all it can tell you is whether you are above or below 14.7:1 (thats simplified but about as good a signal as they have)

and since you will be running in closed loop for probably most of the time, the gauge will just be showing a continous rich/lean/rich/lean/rich/lean.

with a wideband setup, like the innovate LM-1, the output from the meter is directly proportional to a/f ratio!!! an is about as accurate as they come

 

_________________

EB 4L, 8.4:1, R154, GT4202r, 4in exhaust, Greenslade Engineering exhaust manifold, plenum chamber, 90mm throttle, Garrett W2A cooler, Surecam custom, autronic SM4, Bosch 120lb, Crane HI-6, LX-92, LM-1, Turbosmart Reg, 2x bosch 044, turbosmart 48 gate. 470kw+ @ 18PSI

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:19 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 69

Joined: 3rd Dec 2005

Ride: 07 xr5 mondeo

Location: caringbah
NSW, Australia

cheers mate. that clears that issue up.

 

_________________

If it moves, weld it down!
It if doesn't move and should, get a bigger hammer!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

They are not cheap though...

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 8:59 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I'm looking at getting one too, as I'm waiting on the last of my ECU tuing gear to arrive (an ECU emulator), I'll need a AFR meter to do anything meaningful.

Could one, get a wideband O2 sensor, use it in the stock ones place, and then run the EEC and a meter from it? or will the EEC check a wobbly?

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 868

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: eb falcon

Location: kadina
SA, Australia

no problems, talking only from experience with a LM-1, they have two outputs, which can be programmed to read whatever you want..

which means, one can emulate a narrowband std sensor output. which is programmed from factory, and the other can be a 0-1v linear output required for an autometer a/f gauge

 

_________________

EB 4L, 8.4:1, R154, GT4202r, 4in exhaust, Greenslade Engineering exhaust manifold, plenum chamber, 90mm throttle, Garrett W2A cooler, Surecam custom, autronic SM4, Bosch 120lb, Crane HI-6, LX-92, LM-1, Turbosmart Reg, 2x bosch 044, turbosmart 48 gate. 470kw+ @ 18PSI

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 8:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 661

Joined: 2nd Dec 2004

Ride: AU XR8

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

data_mine wrote:
Could one, get a wideband O2 sensor, use it in the stock ones place, and then run the EEC and a meter from it? or will the EEC check a wobbly?

The TechEdge WBO2 I've got has a simulated narrowband output.

To be honest though, I haven't hooked used narrowband output yet....I've always just run it without any signal going back to the EEC for that side of the engine.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:06 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names