Fordmods Logo

F6 phoon showing boost at idle? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: F6 phoon showing boost at idle?
Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 12:13 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 92

Joined: 13th May 2010

Ride: F6 Typhoon

Location: North West Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi guys,

Purchased a BAII f6 typhoon build P0001 a few months ago, been running great. But today I noticed that at idle the boost guage is showing 1 notch of boost (whatever the scale is) at idle. It fluctuates between the bottom notch and about 1 notch up, but doesn't sit at the bottom of the guage as it used to. It also does it in gear (manual) coasting with closed throttle. No noticeable idle quality change or performance change. Now I'm no mechanical idiot but forced induction is fairly new to me. I understand load should be required to produce boost. Has anyone seen this before? Could it be like a vacuum leak in an NA set up? I anyone has any ideas the help would be much appreciated.

Cheers!

 

_________________

F6 Typhoon Silhouette with Dark Argent rims, build P0001. Stock as a rock and staying that way.

Now sold :( Cobalt blue EF XR6, Pacemaker 4499s, 2.5" redback catback, intake, head shaved, wade 977b, crow valve springs, pedders suspension.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: F6 phoon showing boost at idle?
Posted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

P0001? I thought they all just came as #000x or whatever?

Anyway, only thing I can think of is maybe the actuator is jammed? If that's the case I would have thought the computer would have gone nuts. Wouldn't think you could gain that much positive pressure at idle. Is the car molested at all? What's it like from say 30-80 ks an hour? Really sharp? what do you see on the gauge? First thing I'd suggest is getting some wd-40 down the vac line to the actuator, it's a common thing you can do apparently for the f6's. Loosens up the piston a little in the actuator & makes everything more responsive.

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: F6 phoon showing boost at idle?
Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 8:21 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 92

Joined: 13th May 2010

Ride: F6 Typhoon

Location: North West Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah pre production model, owned by Roger Grey (FPV marketing director) from the info I have.


Car is completely stock, and drives as it always has since I've had it, 30-80 is pretty sharp, looses traction in 1st and sometimes 2nd. If it was actually over boosting id expect the boost cut,I can hear the wastegate opening but maybe it's partially jammed? I'll have a look on the weekend. The turbo is in really good condition, It was replaced by a genuine garrett unit about 2 months ago by ford. Oil starvation killed the last one :(

Does the guage on the dash read straight from the MAP sensor?

 

_________________

F6 Typhoon Silhouette with Dark Argent rims, build P0001. Stock as a rock and staying that way.

Now sold :( Cobalt blue EF XR6, Pacemaker 4499s, 2.5" redback catback, intake, head shaved, wade 977b, crow valve springs, pedders suspension.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: F6 phoon showing boost at idle?
Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Have you put the aftermarket braided line & filter in? That's a real must.

Definitely check the actuator, sounds like it could be doing all sorts

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: F6 phoon showing boost at idle?
Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:45 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 92

Joined: 13th May 2010

Ride: F6 Typhoon

Location: North West Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah got that done when the turbo was replaced. Ok thanks for your help mate I'll have a look at the actuator!

 

_________________

F6 Typhoon Silhouette with Dark Argent rims, build P0001. Stock as a rock and staying that way.

Now sold :( Cobalt blue EF XR6, Pacemaker 4499s, 2.5" redback catback, intake, head shaved, wade 977b, crow valve springs, pedders suspension.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: F6 phoon showing boost at idle?
Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1427

Joined: 21st May 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Generally at idle you should be somewhere around 20inHG vacuum. Aka: a long way from being in 'boost'

Somethings not right. Either the gauge, the wiring, or the sensor is faulty.

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia - Manual - Supercharged
- The Car
- The Headlights

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: F6 phoon showing boost at idle?
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 6:49 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 92

Joined: 13th May 2010

Ride: F6 Typhoon

Location: North West Sydney
NSW, Australia

Not having a workshop manual on the car yet, does anyone have the voltages relating to the boost sensor? From what i can gather the gauge reads directly from an independent boost sensor mounted in the intercooler (seems a silly place to measure boost/vacuum), as opposed to the MAP sensor reading from the manifold.

 

_________________

F6 Typhoon Silhouette with Dark Argent rims, build P0001. Stock as a rock and staying that way.

Now sold :( Cobalt blue EF XR6, Pacemaker 4499s, 2.5" redback catback, intake, head shaved, wade 977b, crow valve springs, pedders suspension.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: F6 phoon showing boost at idle?
Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Doesn't sound right. The intercooler never sees vac, can't be there. Sure its not a temp sensor or other?

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: F6 phoon showing boost at idle?
Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 6:36 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 92

Joined: 13th May 2010

Ride: F6 Typhoon

Location: North West Sydney
NSW, Australia

It used a boost sensor located on the hot side of the intercooler to measure boost in conjunction with the MAP sensor. So their is measurement each side of the throttle plate. Apparently the ECU (PCM) uses a fail safe strategy that if it reads abnormal values from the boost sensor then it moves to a baseline type stratergy and refers solely to the MAP sensor for boost measurement.

On Sunday ill run a few tests and post back when i solve it.

 

_________________

F6 Typhoon Silhouette with Dark Argent rims, build P0001. Stock as a rock and staying that way.

Now sold :( Cobalt blue EF XR6, Pacemaker 4499s, 2.5" redback catback, intake, head shaved, wade 977b, crow valve springs, pedders suspension.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:15 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names