Fordmods Logo

how much NOS is enough 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: how much NOS is enough
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 7:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 469

Joined: 4th Jun 2006

Gallery: 35 images

Ride: xy fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

built a mad 409 stroker clevo masive torque and Hp well enough lol
has 11:1 compression should this be taken into account when deciding how big a shot i should give it and how long for

 

 

Attachments:
IMG_0534.JPG
IMG_0534.JPG [ 65.16 KiB | Viewed 47 times ]

 

_________________

If you have it under control then you dont have enough power..
There is no replacement for Displacment..

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

If you can supply enough fuel and tune it right ???
But keep in mind block strength...
Or more the point cylinder bore strength...

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 7:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

the fact that you can't double an engine power with nos mean you can never put 'ENOUGH' nos in the thing.

get it going with out it,(nos) see what sort of power it makes and decide from there

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 2:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

After you blow it up .. Back off 50 h.p... Lol......

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:30 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 17

Joined: 28th May 2005

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

EBXR8380 wrote:
After you blow it up .. Back off 50 h.p... Lol......


As above
When you see the rod hanging out of the block, back it off a bit.

Spend some time on an engine dyno and see how you go, and then once it is in the car back to the rollers for some finner tuning.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 8:47 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 325

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Ride: F350, EF2 Ghia, XC & Corty

Power: 218 rwkw

Location: Wangaratta
VIC, Australia

Is the block part grout filled?
O-ringed block and head or std type gaskets?
I know a bloke who has a LH torrie that HAD a 355 in it.
Was pulling 10's, then he dropped 200HP of nos down its throat and pulled a mid 9, and split the torque converter at 1/2 track!
Looked mad launchin off the line!
Replaced converter and upper the nos to 250hp. Blew head gasket and threw a number of rods out the side... Cause: he forgot to turn fuel pump onto high... Big leanout!
So whether the motor would've taken it or not I have no idea...
But if your motor isn't part grout filled, i'd recommend it even if you weren't putting it on the bottle.
http://www.bacomatic.org/~dw/index.htm
Check out some of this blokes engine builds...
I want his workshop!

 

_________________

13.28@103.73mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 8:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 975

Joined: 26th Nov 2004

Ride: el falcon

Power: 608 rwkw

Location: Waroona
WA, Australia

yess i hope u have a good block. if its a pillow block then it should be ok for 650fwhp. the old nascar block that still used all clevo specs is the way to go, but there hard to find and quite expencive.

ether way, wat ever block u got i hope u got it cheaked. cylinder thikness most inportantly

 

_________________

# 1997 EL Falcon GLI - 600+rwkw

# 2008 FPV FG GTE - Xa Coilovers, 20x8/ 20x10 Fairladys

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 10:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 753

Joined: 6th Dec 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 98 DL LTD | 71 XY

Location: Bellevue
WA, Australia

Yeah thats gonna be a nice beast. Find a shop that dyno tunes nos.. They took me off my 75 shot, changed it to a 35 and thats given me +14RWHP on top of what i had with the 75 shot in.. Make sure they know what there doin with nos tho.

I'm gonna be moving up to 100shot when RPD makes me my digital programmeable, adjustable spark retard adjuster. :D

Ohh make sure ya got a wicked timing chain in there.. My motors only done about 50,000k's from rebuild and i streched mine with to much nossing of the start

 

_________________

RIP Scotty
Still Doin It For Ya Mate

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 10:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 868

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: eb falcon

Location: kadina
SA, Australia

Gunns wrote:
Spend some time on an engine dyno and see how you go, and then once it is in the car back to the rollers for some finner tuning.

i dont know of anyone who would call a chassis dyno finer tuning than an engine dyno... engine dyno's are the ducks guts, only tuning other than engine dyno would be on-road tuning of part throttle light load areas

 

_________________

EB 4L, 8.4:1, R154, GT4202r, 4in exhaust, Greenslade Engineering exhaust manifold, plenum chamber, 90mm throttle, Garrett W2A cooler, Surecam custom, autronic SM4, Bosch 120lb, Crane HI-6, LX-92, LM-1, Turbosmart Reg, 2x bosch 044, turbosmart 48 gate. 470kw+ @ 18PSI

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 9:13 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 17

Joined: 28th May 2005

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

ebs_4l wrote:
Gunns wrote:
Spend some time on an engine dyno and see how you go, and then once it is in the car back to the rollers for some finner tuning.

i dont know of anyone who would call a chassis dyno finer tuning than an engine dyno... engine dyno's are the ducks guts, only tuning other than engine dyno would be on-road tuning of part throttle light load areas


I would for the fact that you load up the engine dyno the same as you would on the rollers or on the road. Having the trans and a complete drive line changes the way the engine loads and preforms on the dyno. Engine dyno is great for setting it up but it will change as soon as it hits the road due to these other factors.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 975

Joined: 26th Nov 2004

Ride: el falcon

Power: 608 rwkw

Location: Waroona
WA, Australia

i agree with ebs_4l, engine dyno can be setup to simulate almost any condition and load. even more so with the climate controled ones.

 

_________________

# 1997 EL Falcon GLI - 600+rwkw

# 2008 FPV FG GTE - Xa Coilovers, 20x8/ 20x10 Fairladys

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 868

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: eb falcon

Location: kadina
SA, Australia

you are dreaming, no way, the whole aim of precise loading of an engine is to get the absolute best possible tune, driveline has absolutely 0 effect on an engines tune, if you tune it 100% spot on on an engine dyno, then thats it, put a trans and diff and tyres on it, and it will still be the same tune, spot on where you left it, the hp readings will be lower, but thats irrelevant, what matters is the a/f ratio and ign timing... there is no chance of getting the precision control of an engine dyno using a chassis dyno

any serious tuner has an engine dyno, im yet to see a formula one car on a chassis dyno, or a v8 supercar...

 

_________________

EB 4L, 8.4:1, R154, GT4202r, 4in exhaust, Greenslade Engineering exhaust manifold, plenum chamber, 90mm throttle, Garrett W2A cooler, Surecam custom, autronic SM4, Bosch 120lb, Crane HI-6, LX-92, LM-1, Turbosmart Reg, 2x bosch 044, turbosmart 48 gate. 470kw+ @ 18PSI

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 469

Joined: 4th Jun 2006

Gallery: 35 images

Ride: xy fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

to tell the truth i have no idea what type of block i have but i did get it checked out and it was a stock 302 block untouched cast in 1971 apparentlly, i had it measured before the engineering started and they said it was in good shape and were interested in taking it off my hands,then i got it acid bathed ,crack tested ,line bored ,decked, bored to 40 thou and honed had all the return oil gernals opened right up so she doesnt get oiled up and droped the 409 crank in to her fingers crossed she has had enough done on the engineering side of things and the s**t load of balinceing of every bloody part that went in that she will be strong enoughbut dont want to over do her with the gas we are expecting 550hp at the treads with no gas should run deep in the tens on the 1/4

 

_________________

If you have it under control then you dont have enough power..
There is no replacement for Displacment..

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: stud kit
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 469

Joined: 4th Jun 2006

Gallery: 35 images

Ride: xy fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yes put stud kit threw hole motor but no orings was told that wasnt nesicary unless i wanted to bolt on a supercharger at a later date and ive spent a lot of coin so far and when its done its done no more money ...lol... i hope lol 20 thousand on motor so far bloody holeywood in a box

 

_________________

If you have it under control then you dont have enough power..
There is no replacement for Displacment..

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 469

Joined: 4th Jun 2006

Gallery: 35 images

Ride: xy fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

if i can get 20000ks out of the motor the way i intend on treating it ill be happy

 

_________________

If you have it under control then you dont have enough power..
There is no replacement for Displacment..

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:58 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names