Fordmods Logo

Question on running boost on I6 with j3 chip 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Question on running boost on I6 with j3 chip
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:52 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 135

Joined: 31st Oct 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Falcon S pack now 4.0l

Location: Tweed Heads
NSW, Australia

G'day all

Just have a quick question about running boost on a j3 chip as i have seen a few guys doing this. Down the road i want to look into a wolf ECU or Haltech etc. just wanted to know whether the j3 is fine with boost with a tune just to get it running and be able to drive it to and from mechanics etc. I have looked through some threads and guys seem to having trouble with the map sensor also so just wanna clear somethings up.

Does the standard map sensor take up to 10 PSI?

If no what should i be doing to run boost BA xr6t map sensor? (if that works at all)

Is the j3 chip descent for running a Turbo I6?

If yes any descent tuners in south east queensland or brisbane area i should be going to?

Thanks for your time.

EaGreentree

 

_________________

1990 ea ford falcon getting ready for boost.

2000 Ford Courier 2.5l Turbo Diesel

YZ250 2009

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question on running boost on I6 with j3 chip
Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 10:43 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 16

Joined: 19th Apr 2009

Ride: series 2 EB turbo/ xd mont 302

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

Hey mate, there are plenty of people using the j3 for boosted cars ( me included, dohc turbo )
I found the base tune from t.I performance was a good starting point but had to edit the tune quit a bit to
get it running well and not ping its head off, but you can't expect a mail order tune to be spot on, cars aren't
one size fits all.

Aftermarket ecu's would clearly be better if you have the money.

 

_________________

EB series 2,super lows, t04,custom manifold,3inch dump,custom intercooler water spray ,bosch 023,OBX fpr,custom tuned j3,shift kitted auto,18's,fairmont interior.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question on running boost on I6 with j3 chip
Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 10:45 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 135

Joined: 31st Oct 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Falcon S pack now 4.0l

Location: Tweed Heads
NSW, Australia

Thanks mate and good to hear, are you running the standard map sensor ?

 

_________________

1990 ea ford falcon getting ready for boost.

2000 Ford Courier 2.5l Turbo Diesel

YZ250 2009

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question on running boost on I6 with j3 chip
Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 12:09 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Standard MAP sensor will take approx 1 Bar if you are lucky. They are not designed for boost.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question on running boost on I6 with j3 chip
Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 12:13 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 135

Joined: 31st Oct 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Falcon S pack now 4.0l

Location: Tweed Heads
NSW, Australia

SWC wrote:
Standard MAP sensor will take approx 1 Bar if you are lucky. They are not designed for boost.


thanks mate, is there an aftermarket option or BA xr6T map sensor work with a tune?

 

_________________

1990 ea ford falcon getting ready for boost.

2000 Ford Courier 2.5l Turbo Diesel

YZ250 2009

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question on running boost on I6 with j3 chip
Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 5:55 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 16

Joined: 19th Apr 2009

Ride: series 2 EB turbo/ xd mont 302

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

I'm running the factory map but I have a Turbosmart fuel cut defender installed, i have run up
To 15 psi without map dramas, not saying its the besr way but certainly doable.

 

_________________

EB series 2,super lows, t04,custom manifold,3inch dump,custom intercooler water spray ,bosch 023,OBX fpr,custom tuned j3,shift kitted auto,18's,fairmont interior.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Question on running boost on I6 with j3 chip
Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 10:41 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 135

Joined: 31st Oct 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Falcon S pack now 4.0l

Location: Tweed Heads
NSW, Australia

peterel wrote:
I'm running the factory map but I have a Turbosmart fuel cut defender installed, i have run up
To 15 psi without map dramas, not saying its the besr way but certainly doable.


Hey mate thanks for the reply definitely going to look into something similar.

Thanks

 

_________________

1990 ea ford falcon getting ready for boost.

2000 Ford Courier 2.5l Turbo Diesel

YZ250 2009

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:49 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names