Fordmods Logo

Snort Turbo Charge on EF 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 41 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Snort Turbo Charge on EF
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:30 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 27

Joined: 31st Mar 2008

Ride: Fairmont EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Im looking at purchasing a Snort Performance stage 2 turbo kit, my mate whos a ford mechanic said he thinks he can install, but hes not sure if its all bolt on... Has anybody done it themselves?

I want to be 100% sure before i purchase it. This is for a fairmont EF

Cheers guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If your mate is a mechanic and he cant install a snort kit he should not be working with cars.

Snort kits are Almost 100% bolt on.
Tap the Sump for the Oil return
Inter cooler needs to be mounted and piping needs to be sorted out
Connecting the dump pipe to your exhaust is about all that is not "bolt on"

might be a few other little things to sort out as well but nothing that you shouldn't be able to overcome.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:48 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 27

Joined: 31st Mar 2008

Ride: Fairmont EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

haha, settle on buddy, my mates a great mechanic, but he wasnt 100% sure on how much was bolt on and how much wasnt.

Cheers though mate, just wanted to make sure.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 3406

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: AU2 Ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

An accountant could do it, let alone a mechanic.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i wasn't having a go at him, don't know him so i cant say how good or bad he is as a mechanic. :wink:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:06 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 27

Joined: 31st Mar 2008

Ride: Fairmont EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

haha ye i know, sall good dude. Gonna go with the snort stage 2, have u got one on urs? can i use stock ECU?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i have a setup from snort that is close to an AIT turbo setup.

Snort put a stage 2 kit on an EA, using their Water to Air inter cooler setup and with stock ECU got over 200rwkw (cant remember exact figure)

with upgraded fuel system BA injectors and a piggyback ECU final tune was 295rwkw.


Remember you will need a F.M.U and a high flow fuel pump (not sure if they are in the snort kits)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:19 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 27

Joined: 31st Mar 2008

Ride: Fairmont EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

nice dude,

hmm wat if i dont get those extra parts? engine blows? =(

ye those parts dont come with the stage 2, f**k! lol, ill be happy with 200 at the wheels. will i need the piggy back ecu? or can i just run the bolt on kit with a sweet tune on the stock ecu?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

u will need the F.M.U and the Fuel Pump as minimum.

It will and can run on stock fuel setup and ECU but i would at least get it on a dyno to check its running safe. and not run much boost probably 5psi max.


"should" be no problem hitting 200rwkw with a snort stage 2 kit on stock ECU, with the parts above

how many K's on your motor ?
not major problems with it ?
auto box or manual ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:29 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 27

Joined: 31st Mar 2008

Ride: Fairmont EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yee sweet dude,

my mate knows a good place for tunning and dynoing so deff getting them done.

Umm the car is in perfect condition, 175K on the clock, just had new alternator put in, had new fuel pump put in in 2006, other then that, the cars been perfect. Its an auto, but i wanna convert to manual probs next year some time.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

the E series t5's don't like being pushed
if you are turboing stick with the auto and put a shift kit in it.

if i were you i would do a bit more research into turbo's for e series read Chef's sticky at the top and do your sums again. finished product pretty much always ends up more than you will budget for. Especially if you try to do it cheaply.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:35 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 27

Joined: 31st Mar 2008

Ride: Fairmont EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ye im deff budgeting above wat i think. Its around 3.5K for the kit, then installation, dyno and tune probs another 1.5...

I havnt got the money yet, so ill deff do some more research, cheers mate.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4182

Joined: 30th May 2005

Ride: 1993 EB XR8

Location: BrisVegas
QLD, Australia

Mate, under 8psi the snort kit, 12:1FMU and a good Fuel pump (Bosch 040 or similar) will throw around 320rwhp through a stock EA T5, and treated right, or wrong it will last, but for how long is the question. BI6TIM made 350rwhp on: Snort Kit, ED XR6 ECU, Bosch 040 pump, 24lb/hr injectors and a 12:1FMU, and an EA T5, went 13.7@110mph with a 2.4s 60 footer

 

_________________

ILL60 - EF XR8, Sunroof, Ticky Kit, 19x8.5/19x11 TE37's, 347, AFr185's, TFS BoxRcustom converter, Hurst Quarterstick, huge billet cam.

51TER - DL LTD. Stock.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yep another happy customer :D

He had no intention of keeping that EA T5, i bet even he thought it was going to brake.

and as i said the kit "should" be no problem hitting the figures he asked with a Fuel Pump and FMU.

Cheapest option is to leave the BTR auto in there and use an electronic shift kit.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:52 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 27

Joined: 31st Mar 2008

Ride: Fairmont EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hmm wats a FMU? Sorry newbie here =D

I understand everything else just not the FMU.

How much would i be looking at for the electronic shift kit?

My mate has one in his statesman, the things a beast, he paid around 1500 i think. Is that about right?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:03 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names