Fordmods Logo

turbo basic design 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Post subject: turbo basic design
Posted: Thu May 25, 2006 6:29 am 
Fordmods Newbie

WA, Australia

i remember reading some post a while ago of an american mustang with the turbo mounted far in the exhaust. it was actually mounted near the boot i think(i cant really remember) but u get the point. so that got me thinking this week about turbo design and problems.
i went and read an article about how turbos work(i already know how they do from long time ago) and it got me thinking. the biggest problem in the system is heat. heat from the exhaust housing causes the compressed ait to heat up which basically is not good for the engine.
so how does the turbo work. the exhaust rushes through exhaust housing and thus turns the turbine shaft which turns the compressor wheel and compresses the air.

well here is my question. it could be stupid but im no expert and couldnt find an answer anywhere to it.
could the turbine shaft be made longer(not by me, just as theory in designing a turbo by a turbo company)? basically this will seperate the two housings. the exhaust housing will be on the manifold will the compressor housing will be say 30cm or more in front. this would probably take more space and the shaft would have to be made stronger, but otherwise is there something from preventing this from happening? imagine this on a turbo i6, where u would have the compressor housing right behind the right handside light with an air intake and heat sheildin between. will elliminate the use or intercooler.
just thoughts and ideas, all theory and nothing to be implemented.

Posted: Thu May 25, 2006 6:43 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF Falcon

VIC, Australia

the main thing than is room in the engine bay
most turbo's are compacted to keep heat away from other enigen parts in the bay
IMO

EFBIGNIK 145.9 RWKW Falcon / 16.27 @ 86.72mph (Stock)
http://s60.photobucket.com/albums/h38/e ... urnout.flv