Fordmods Logo

turbo on factory ecu 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: turbo on factory ecu
Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:40 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 62

Joined: 14th Jun 2006

Location: here
VIC, Australia

will using the capa e series edit allow the factory ecu to read boost
i was going to turbo my el and thought that the capa chip would be easier than aftermarket computer

also posted in ECU & Fuel System Forum
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 9:33 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 35

Joined: 22nd Aug 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

how much boost you planning on running? considering you will be upgrading your fuel system (fuel reg, injectors, fuel pump) and forking out for a turbo kit, it would be much better to go for an aftermarket, like wolf, they are not hard to wire up either, heaps have done it on the e-series here, in the long term its better as well, no dramas.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Going aftermarket would be better, as long as you're prepared to spend hours on the dyno, and this would be the best way to go about it, the only upside of the factory ECU is that there is already a map for cold tune, below boost, etc.. and it will run whatever your car has at the moment.

But to answer your question, I wasn't aware of the capa chips allowing you to read more than 6?? psi of boost. Which isn't a whole lot. But I could be wrong.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 661

Joined: 2nd Dec 2004

Ride: AU XR8

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

justfordima wrote:
But to answer your question, I wasn't aware of the capa chips allowing you to read more than 6?? psi of boost. Which isn't a whole lot. But I could be wrong.

To clarify, the limit is not the chip, but the factory MAP sensor. I know with the BA/BF's, it is possible to change the MAP sensor, and using the SCT Advantage software, rescale the MAP sensor tables for a 2 or 3 bar MAP sensor.

I cant see any reason why this would not be possible with the E-Series cars, but I haven't heard of anyone doing this on an E-Series car yet.

Assuming that is possible, then it would be a hell of alot easier and cheaper to use the std EEC with a CAPA Eliminator chip than to go aftermarket.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:25 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I sincerely doubt the MAP sensor is the restriction, I have tested these units and with over 30 psi they are still reading strong. It is in fact the ECU which limits them (the tables rather).



Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Yeah its the ecu itself... be great if edit was good for boosting a Eseries, as engineering would be easy... aftermarket ecu's can be hard to engineer, well, impossible... I only got mine through on the old ED due to hiding it under the dash and pretending it ran on eec stil lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 7:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 868

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: eb falcon

Location: kadina
SA, Australia

if you are prepared to use batch fired injection for a decent turbo setup/tune... then go ahead with a edit, if you want good/sequential injection control, then go aftermarket...

aftermarket gives you a whole range of programmable outputs and inputs aswell, datalog, a/f reading and logging, thermo fans, boost control, intercooler sprays, shift lights, traction control, launch control, antilag and all the nice little things that the EEC cant do.......

also, i dont beleive the EEC would be capable of running low impedance injectors...

there was a very detailed argument between these two systems in a thread on here a little while ago

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopi ... sc&start=0

 

_________________

EB 4L, 8.4:1, R154, GT4202r, 4in exhaust, Greenslade Engineering exhaust manifold, plenum chamber, 90mm throttle, Garrett W2A cooler, Surecam custom, autronic SM4, Bosch 120lb, Crane HI-6, LX-92, LM-1, Turbosmart Reg, 2x bosch 044, turbosmart 48 gate. 470kw+ @ 18PSI

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 2:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 661

Joined: 2nd Dec 2004

Ride: AU XR8

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

justfordima wrote:
I sincerely doubt the MAP sensor is the restriction, I have tested these units and with over 30 psi they are still reading strong. It is in fact the ECU which limits them (the tables rather).

What is the range of a std non-turbo MAP sensor? I doubt it would be more than 1bar....?

Anyway, it is the tables in the ECU I am talking about.

On multiple occasions, the MAP sensor has been succesfully changed on non-turbo BA/BF Falcons, and the load tables re-scaled to suit the increased range.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 3:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 556

Joined: 10th Dec 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EAII Falcon S

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

could allso be a faulty map sensor, i had to replace one in my old ea. i pulled the old one apart and it had oil and dust deposits over the silicon membrane.

 

_________________

Speed Safely! ;-)

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:18 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names