Fordmods Logo

turbo timer... its a 24V :( 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: turbo timer... its a 24V :(
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

hello all, i purchased a turbo timer online for a very cheap price, however i didnt realise it was 24 volt, can i still hook it up to my 12 volt car? my mate said i can but the timing may be a little out??? or is there a small power suply i can buy to fit under the dash to run this???

http://i14.ebayimg.com/03/i/07/ed/58/11_1.JPG
http://i14.ebayimg.com/03/i/07/ed/58/24_1.JPG

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 681

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII Ghia

well its eiher gonna work of 12v or its not, like it may damage it from to low of voltage but i would think not. not really the same but 24v volt brake lights work fine in 12v. im no expert but ya worry about amps more than volts i have underpowered and over powered many eleectrical things. if ya naver paid much just try it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

would the timing be out due to it being half the voltage, so the 3 minutes becomes 6??? maybe

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

can you utilise a transformer to step the voltage up to 24V?

Also, pm the seller, usually they're happy to provide assistanceand might have an idea for ya.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

the seller does not answer any emails, i think he dosnt speak much english so he just sends items off when he recieves money, there would have to be some sort of amp (kinda like car amp) that would step up the power

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

ill hook it up tomorrow and set it to 1 minute and time it to see how long it goes for

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

http://www.powerstream.com/dc24.htm

Not an amp, a transformer, like this.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 12:35 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

:O for 140 bucks it can stay there, new ones only cost 50 bucks on ebay...

i think ill try my chance on 12 volt power input

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 11:32 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 64

Joined: 15th May 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Location: bundaberg
QLD, Australia

it wont damage anything if you hook it up. its either going to work or not,
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 11:36 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Power inverter?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 3:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4305

Joined: 6th Jul 2005

Ride: BA xr8 Magnet ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Why did you buy a turbo timer? i didnt know your car was forced
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 3:18 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 353

Joined: 12th Apr 2006

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

running a 24 volt item on 12 volts shouldn't damage it... running a 12 volt item on 24 volts might be a different story..

i think i saw an inverter at work yesterday... not sure if it's 12v to 24v or 24v to 12v... (if there is a difference)

will have a look on monday and see if i can take it... if you are interested you could use that?.. i also need to check if it's working..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 3:25 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

most likely these units were made on 12v, and a handfull of them have been modded to 24v, as theres no real current drawn from the timer and the only load bearing would be the relay.. you might be able to replace the regulator/resister inside it to run better on 12v.

but then again, these 1970's turbo timers are a dime a doz, so the 15bux u spent on it? just buy a 12v version?

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 4:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

Southy wrote:
Why did you buy a turbo timer? i didnt know your car was forced


its not forcet yet, but it is high priority on my list of mods, hopefully not that far away, it just poped up cheap

thanks for all the time and info guys so far

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:32 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names